logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2018, 09:31 AM   #1
joekanan
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Smile Sql Server Connection

Hi,
I'm new at dreamweaver and now about starting to develop my app . But I have some difficulties of creating connection between dreamweaver and sql server. My dreamweaver is macromedia dreamweaver 8 and my sql server is ms.sql server 2005. and one of the problem is a messages tells "HTTP error code 404 File not found. There some possible reasons of the problem:....."
the error show after I try to safe the connection string. There's no errors when I create the connection string..but it show when I try to save it.
Please Help..

thanks
joekanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 02:41 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,204
Default

are you trying top connect remote, ie to a live site or are you working locally? if local , when you open a browser and enter' localhost' does a local server open?
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 11:30 AM   #3
New Perspective Studio
New Perspective Studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: east london
Posts: 29
Default

If you are on localhost or live i assume you are writing the website in php you should use the mysqli_error function in your connection string it should give you more information about what exactly is going on with regards to the 404.

whether you are live or on localhost you should also have php error logs although i suspect these will simply mirror what you see already but worth a look.
New Perspective Studio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 11:17 AM   #4
joekanan
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Default Sql Server connection

It is Locally and it is still on the connection setting at the first time creating web. or are there any way or tutorial of creating connection between dreamweaver and sql server. I'tried from you tube with connecting dreamweaver cs 6 with sql server but still not working..


Quote:
Originally Posted by edbr View Post
are you trying top connect remote, ie to a live site or are you working locally? if local , when you open a browser and enter' localhost' does a local server open?
joekanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 11:41 PM   #5
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,204
Default

just to be clear then. on your local server are the files in place in the www folder. so if you put in a browser localhost/your_folder you can access your site?
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 01:00 AM   #6
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,204
Default

on adobe site https://helpx.adobe.com/dreamweaver/...eamweaver.html
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 07:01 AM   #7
joekanan
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Default

I put the file on d:\xammp\httdoc\BISWEB
the configuration are :

the name of the site :
bisweb

Local root folder :
D:\xampp\htdocs\BISWEB\_mmServerScripts\

http address :
http://localhost/BISweb/

access : Local/Network
remote info :
D:\xampp\htdocs\BISweb\_mmServerScripts\

Server model : ASP/VB Script
Access : Local/Network
Testing Folder : D:\xampp\htdocs\BISweb\_mmServerScripts\

URL Prefix : http://localhost/BISweb/_mmServerScripts\
joekanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 07:39 AM   #8
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,204
Default

Local root folder :
D:\xampp\htdocs\BISWEB\_mmServerScripts\ as your root folder?

if you set your rroot as say D:\sites\BISWEB

and browse and find the folder on xxamp ie htdocs/BIS for remote and testing servers.
I have never used xxamp for sql only as an apache server so i dont understand the _mmServerScripts\ path . so cant be of much help.
a quick yahoogle and it seems a common problem configuring xxamp to use asp . I may be tottaly wrong but is IIS not a better option?
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com