logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2015, 04:33 PM   #1
moondancer8
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 24
Default Mobile friendly website with drop down menus

I am trying to make my website mobile friendly, and am slowly getting there, but cannot work out how to do the menu bar. I currently have it across the top of the site, with quite a few drop down menus (there's a lot of info on my site). When looking at it on a mobile, the drop downs cover up some of the other titles on the menu bar. Is there some way of listing all menu titles separately (without dropping down) at the bottom of the page say? The URL is www.charmsoflight.com if that helps.
Thank you very much.
moondancer8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 06:31 PM   #2
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

It doesn't seem to be working correctly on mobile for me at all.

When you get down to mobile the menu should disappear altogether IMO and be replaced by a single drop down menu.

Check this out, this was created by a really respected guy in the community and its something I've used.

Scroll down to the navigation section, loads of excellent examples.

http://bradfrost.github.io/this-is-r.../patterns.html

Cheers

Richard
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 06:32 PM   #3
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

You need this type of thing.

http://webdesigntutsplus.s3.amazonaw...868/index.html

Not a bad looking site BTW. Better than some of the nightmare sites we see on here sometimes.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 08:03 PM   #4
moondancer8
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 24
Default

Thank you, that's exactly what I need. Are the instructions on how to do that somewhere in the first link you gave me? I'll try to follow them as best I can.

Cheers,
Caryl
moondancer8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 01:08 PM   #5
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

No instructions as it's not really a tutorial.

That second link I gave you. Download a copy of that. You should be able to pick the bones out of it and get it into your website.

post back if you need a hand.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 03:26 PM   #6
moondancer8
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 24
Default

Thank you, I appreciate your help. How, exactly, do I download a copy of that second link? I'm really only a novice at css code, but am willing to try to work it out. Although any advice will be greatly received.
moondancer8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2015, 08:39 PM   #7
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

I meant just download it by viewing the page source code. You can download any website this way.

To make it easy for you I've done this and provided a download below.

http://we.tl/1UG5MhGN4r
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:03 PM   #8
moondancer8
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 24
Default

Thank you, I did copy the page source code, but I can't get it to work on my site. Is there anything else I need to know? Are there any files I need to open or something?

I couldn't open your download - got a message saying "Safari can’t open the file “Menu.rar” because no available application can open it." So, don't know if there was anything extra in it that I may have missed.
moondancer8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:55 PM   #9
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

It's a compressed folder, you need a program such as win rar to open.

http://www.win-rar.com/start.html?&L=0
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:57 PM   #10
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

This is just a plain zip folder try this instead.

http://we.tl/djF7y6MOzn
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com