logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Fireworks
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2011, 06:03 PM   #1
nwcountry
nwcountry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 105
Default I made my banner/logo/header, whatever,

and now comes the part that I don't see directions if it doesn't fit right on my webpage. Edbr has helped me with the trick of putting in a 1px slice of my banner from one end and inserting that into the CSS properties for the header. It works to a degree but I still end up with little, white lines. My canvas is set to transparent so I don't know how this happens. My banner size is 1024 X 150.

Anyway, without "guessing" I wanted to enlist your help now rather than after I have created a monster. My website is tocatchamiracle.com and I will "put" the file up now so you guys can see it. If you need me to copy and paste my code here let me know too.

Thanks in advance, Denise
nwcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 07:47 PM   #2
d a v e
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,684
Default

do you mean little white line in the image itself??
if that is what you mean then i think that it's because the gradient is too blunt. gradients in real life (ie light falling on a coloured object) don't really go from a solid colour through to white

if i may be so bold (i usually may ) i knocked this up quickly
http://gekkoweb.com/stuff/header.jpg
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 07:53 PM   #3
nwcountry
nwcountry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 105
Default

I started my banner over. But there is still a problem, it is too long now. Is this something I have to go back into DW and "guess" what width? Or, do I do something to make it fit any screen. I'll go look at your link as it may answer my question Thank you much!!!! Denise PS Please take a look if you like, at the new banner I just "put" on my site, tocatchamiracle.com
nwcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:07 PM   #4
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

You're supposed to use a background image for the gradient.

Create a gradient that is only 10px wide for example, and the correct height.
Now repeat it as you background image:

Code:
background: url(gradient.jpg) repeat-x;
.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 03:55 PM   #5
nwcountry
nwcountry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 105
Default

Oh sorry, didn't see this, gotcha and thank you for breaking it into simpler terms for me, LOL denise Wait, I may have misunderstood but you say to make my whole background from a gradient?? It already is? So the 8px would be from that gradient? Are you saying I need a different canvas? My canvas is transparent so it should be an issue right? Yes, the lines are white. I am misunderstanding no doubt, denise

Last edited by nwcountry; 06-02-2011 at 04:09 PM..
nwcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 05:11 PM   #6
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Back to basics, you need to learn how the CSS background property works

Then you set a background image, and put your logo on top of it.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 03:10 AM   #7
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

About that light reading....
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 03:15 AM   #8
nwcountry
nwcountry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
Back to basics, you need to learn how the CSS background property works

Then you set a background image, and put your logo on top of it.
Ok but I have learned to drive a car without knowing how it works because someone showed me. Are you guys just here to tell me what class to take? I mean, I don't care if that's the case. But I just needed to understand that. If someone asks me how to make spaghetti, I'm not going to give them a recipe, I'm going to show them how, step by step.

Thanks guys bye for now denise
nwcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 03:28 AM   #9
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

Aw now D, it's not that at all. A better analogy is that some of the questions you're asking are covering very basic material. In all seriousness you gotta remember grade school. You learned the alphabet, and remember those 1st & second grade math tests? Elements of all tasks are always broken down into their most primitive compositions, at which level it is assumed you understand. You can't learn words, you can't do math, unless you grasp the very basic elements.
Nobody's pickin' on ya I assure you...
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 03:49 AM   #10
nwcountry
nwcountry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 105
Default

exactly, so I will go to school and I don't need you guys, bye
nwcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com