logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-16-2014, 09:22 PM   #1
Deaf Smith

Default First post

And first question!

I'm a programmer wanting to learn to use Dreamweaver to make websites. I use HTML5, PHP, MySQL, and Javascipt now and I do the web work by hand.

But, I am also a collage student at a university. here in Texas (University of Texas at Tyler.) Question is, is there a discount for buying Dreamweaver for collage students?

If so where do I go to see about this?

I do web work for a non-profit and they are willing to give me $200 to help buy it.

I use Linux computers and I understand WINE will work to emulate a MS system so I can use Dreamweaver from it. Is that true?

Anyway, thanks for any help.

Deaf
Deaf Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 05:12 AM   #2
d a v e

if you know how to hand code then i'm sure why you would want to buy dreamweaver?!
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 08:16 AM   #3
Deaf Smith

I presume you cam make alot of the design with Dreamweaver and then 'tweak' it by hand (or add such things as CAPTCHA.

Dreamweaver does make HTML and PHP, right?

Thanks,

Deaf
Old 12-18-2014, 10:06 AM   #4
d a v e

yes Dw does handle html and php (and css, etc.)

you can but then you have no control over the quality of the code - you're quite likely to end up with absolutely positioned divs and a mess of css styles unless you're careful

far better to hand code using a decent editor like sublime text and preview in browsers.

don't get me wrong: i like dreamweaver, but unless you're using it as a fancy code editor then you'll be worse off.
would be better to use paper and pencil first then fireworks/illustrator/indesign/photoshop/sketch... to make a visual if you find that half of things troublesome and then hand code it from there.