logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2014, 07:28 AM   #1
ArtStudent
ArtStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
Default margins dissapearing

Hello Fellow Dream Weavers!

I've been taking a class at my University on web design. All was going well, until I uploaded the files and found some very strange things.

Sadly, the professor is no longer available to help as classes are over, but the final submission is due on the 4th. Any help over the next few days will very much appreciated!

So the first problem is this:

I've added a margin class below the objects in cells, and the spacing looks great when previewed locally in a browser: .

However, when opening in firefox, the margins become about half, and in chrome, they dissapear entirely:


Anyone have any tips about what might be causing this?

Thanks!
Thoreau
ArtStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:29 AM   #2
d a v e
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,684
Default

hard to say without code. upload the code or better still publish the site live or post to somewhere like codepen
and you should only use tables for tabular data, not for layout.
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 12:13 PM   #3
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

Looks like a classic case of margin collapse to me. viewing locally shouldn't make any difference though. Read this for more info.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...gin-collapsing

Post your code for more info.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 02:54 PM   #4
ArtStudent
ArtStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
Default

hey Guys,
thanks very much for the response.

Sadly, tables for layout is what we've been taught all semester, and is all I know, and it's too late to start from scratch before it's due on the 4th.

I've uploaded the code here live:
http://thoreaubakker.com/portfolio

any suggestions appreciated greatly appreciated.

Thoreau
ArtStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 03:24 PM   #5
ArtStudent
ArtStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
Default

p.s. here is what it looks like on my local browser (ff or chrome).

I have a roll over effect on images (that's broken when live).
My menu text (arial / helvetica stack) is broken when live
AND my margins..

If anyone can give me some tips on how to fix some of my problems, I'd be grateful!

ArtStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 03:25 PM   #6
ArtStudent
ArtStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
Default

thoreaubakker (dot) com (other post is in moderation)
ArtStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 03:36 AM   #7
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

I can't believe they've been teaching tables for layout in 2014. Frankly that's a disgrace IMO. In 2004 it might have been just about acceptable. Didn't realise you'd built with tables. I'll have a look tomorrow when in front of a desktop computer.

Regarding your rollover effects. If they are working locally you'll almost certainly have not uploaded the relevant JavaScript or css to the server. Either that or that paths to these said resources are incorrect. Generally when this happens the paths are pointing to a location on your local machine.

So you might have c:/user/my docs/my script.js
When you should have something like ../js/my script.js i.e a location relative to your HTML file.

I'll have a look and post back.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 03:39 AM   #8
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

By the way just watch the size of the images you are posting its broken the layout of the page on my iPad it's so large
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 03:45 AM   #9
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

I'm not getting anything at any of these locations

thoreaubakker.com
thoreaubakker.com/work
thoreaubakker.com/portfolio

Could you check please.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 04:54 AM   #10
ArtStudent
ArtStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Ricky55,

thanks for the responses and taking the time to check!

You were absolutely right.. it was my .css in the wrong directory .
Thank You!!

Can you see if this works on your iPad? Still ruff, but the functionality should be there:

http://thoreaubakker.com/test

Again, much much thanks.
Thoreau
ArtStudent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com