logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2014, 10:20 AM   #1
monkeymedia
monkeymedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 152
Default inline block spacing

Hi All

could someone tell me why the following:

http://www.redwebhosting.co.uk/test/...tcare/test.php

has gone all weird with the white space above the buttons? it was working fine before I added the blue box graphic on the left, and it looks fine in dw live preview mode.

help greatly appreciated as always.

Darren
monkeymedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 08:06 PM   #2
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

When you use inline-block without any other type of positioning you get these strange results. If you just float the links to the right it will cure this issue.

More info: http://css-tricks.com/fighting-the-s...lock-elements/

You have other issues though.

1. You are using images when you can just use CSS.
2. Load your javascripts inc Google tracking code before the close of the body not in the head. This is better for performance.
3. You have loads of superfluous CSS. Try using a reset or normailze css to stop you having to continually margin 0 padding 0.
4. also try to use css short hand, rather than repeating properties
5. Try not to use ID's they add unnecessary specificity
6. Try to only use classes when needed, you have ID's and classes on elements that can be selected with just decedent selectors.

HTH
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 06:59 PM   #3
monkeymedia
monkeymedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 152
Default

thanks Ricky

the float fixed it, I understand what you're saying with the other points (mostly) and will try to do that on the next one, I daren't mess with this one now as its working, lol.

thanks again.
monkeymedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 08:27 PM   #4
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

No problem.

Its just about best practice. Try and set up a decent base set of files for your self that you can use to start every new project.

I'd recommend downloading the HTML5 boiler plate and see what they are doing and take whats relevant and create your own boiler plate. Its free and its made by a whole community of top pros that continually improve it for best practice, performance, accessibility etc.

http://html5boilerplate.com/

Moving the javascript to just before the body won't break anything trust me.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 07:14 PM   #5
monkeymedia
monkeymedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 152
Default

thanks Ricky, have downloaded it and will go through it.

cheers again
monkeymedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 08:16 PM   #6
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

My pleasure mate.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com