logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-27-2014, 04:05 PM   #1
machristy

Red face Converting from Frontpage to DW

Good Day All, I am new to dreamweaver and my company is moving from frontpage to dreamweaver. All in all my team is comfortable with the transistion but the biggest issue we are worried about is the way dreamweaver opens up to want to place the test site from a PC and publish the updates to a live site. We currently work off of a test SERVER and publish to a LIVE SERVER no PC storing the site. In the past we would open the site on http://SITENAMETEST in Frontpage or SHarepoint Designer, now Dreamweaver is asking for the Network connection.

The concern we are having will be our links when we hyperlink and the publishing of new files. Is there a different setting for the site to open in the server location and not a network drive location.

I hope I am not being confusing. Please help. Thanks
machristy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 11:48 PM   #2
Ricky55

Not sure I understand what you mean.

Dreamweaver can work with local servers but your site files must be stored on your local PC but thats how Frontpage would work.

Can you try to explain a little better.

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 02:48 AM   #3
machristy

I am not certain I understand what you mean by my site local files MUST be on my PC.

In FP I would open up my test side of the site that we worked off of on a test server, actual web server not on a local LAN drive or PC. The site we would work off of would be http://SITENAMETEST then we would publish the updates to the LIVE side each day http://SITENAME, not test side. No place would we be saving test side stuff to LAN drives or PC hard drives.