logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-28-2014, 08:47 PM   #1
Tomcat104

Default Fluid Grid Layouts

Okay guys, I need your help once again.

I recently upgraded to Dreamweaver CS6 and have been playing with FGL. Why would I choose to ever use a layout that wasn't FGL? Granted right now it's easier to do "regular" layouts but won't FGL become just as easy after a short while?

I just started playing with them so I may not have found out all the downsides. What is your opinions? I need your "sage wisdom" here to prevent me from spinning my wheels.

Would you charge extra for designing a website in FGL?
Tomcat104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 08:59 AM   #2
Ricky55

You probably wouldn't these days although there are times when you might want to create a fixed width site.

Perhaps if the client just wanted a really simple cheap solution. Even then I'd try to talk them round but back in the real world this isn't always possible and some clients don't care about RWD as long as a site works on mobile devices. Some would choose not to work with these types of clients but that's not always an option.

You can't really charge extra these days IMO as responsive web design and fluid grids that RWD requires have now become the standard to which most modern websites are built. You do need to factor into your costs though the extra work. I now charge more for a RWD website than I used to do for a fixed width site, you have to but I never say this extra is for RWD this is just my new price. Hope that makes sense. I think if you did state extra costs for RWD you'd put yourself at a commercial disadvtange with your competitors and peers.

Don't forget that you need to use fluid layouts in conjunction with media queries to make a RWD design and frankly something that's useful and workable.

Hope that answers your query.