logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > HTML and CSS
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
kremo5le
kremo5le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 112
Question Sticky Menu: CSS Issue?

Hey guys,

On my under-construction site devDOTottercreativestudio.com I have added a menu that when scrolling down (try!) it sticks to the top. Functionality-wise, it is done. However, the background (orange) does not flush side-to-side and when you scroll down and it sticks, only the right hand side does it.

I am using the boilerplate responsive framework: http://www.getskeleton.com/

Any help will be appreciated, as usual.
__________________
Otter Creative Studio
San Diego Web Design, SEO, & Graphic Design
kremo5le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:03 PM   #2
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

Don't understand the question... The left side is stationary, is that what you are referring to as your menu?
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:12 PM   #3
kremo5le
kremo5le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 112
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnMoss View Post
Don't understand the question... The left side is stationary, is that what you are referring to as your menu?
Thank you for looking into this!

The orange background of the menu is supposed to repeat x and it does not.
__________________
Otter Creative Studio
San Diego Web Design, SEO, & Graphic Design
kremo5le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:36 PM   #4
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kremo5le View Post
The orange background of the menu is supposed to repeat x and it does not.
It is repeating, at least in Chrome. This is a simple and very much supported CSS property by all modern browsers.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 04:44 PM   #5
kremo5le
kremo5le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 112
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
It is repeating, at least in Chrome. This is a simple and very much supported CSS property by all modern browsers.
I know! I design for a living. I just can't get passed this issue at the moment. I am looking for someone who can quickly look at the code of the site.

I have checked on all major browsers, Mac and Windows, and it does not flush. See the image attached.

I know this is a simple thing but I am using a responsive layout and I know that's where the problem resides.

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2012-10-03 at 9.39.57 AM.jpg (20.8 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Otter Creative Studio
San Diego Web Design, SEO, & Graphic Design
kremo5le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:38 AM   #6
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

Wow... IE is really a mess. I couldn't even see the menu, its not there in IE 9. I see it now in chrome... I'll be back...
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:02 AM   #7
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

Line 42 in Dreamweaver, you have a div classed as "three columns sidebar".

Isn't that supposed to be "three.columns sidebar" ?
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:03 AM   #8
kremo5le
kremo5le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 112
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnMoss View Post
Wow... IE is really a mess. I couldn't even see the menu, its not there in IE 9. I see it now in chrome... I'll be back...
Make sure you are on IE9. It works 100% on it. This website also passes V3C validation 100% and the code is clean and developed in the most efficient manner. It is my master piece!

Thanks for looking into it.
__________________
Otter Creative Studio
San Diego Web Design, SEO, & Graphic Design
kremo5le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:05 AM   #9
kremo5le
kremo5le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnMoss View Post
Line 42 in Dreamweaver, you have a div classed as "three columns sidebar".

Isn't that supposed to be "three.columns sidebar" ?
I think you are looking at the splash page, not the actual development website:

devDOTottercreativestudioDOTcom
__________________
Otter Creative Studio
San Diego Web Design, SEO, & Graphic Design
kremo5le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 03:52 AM   #10
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

ah, you are correct. sorry, your first post i was following the live link...
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com