logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > HTML and CSS
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2012, 08:33 AM   #1
DreamweaverDan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Default Problem Linking navbar drop downs

Hi guys,
I am making a website in dreamweaver for GCSE level, so I created a fine navigation bar in macromedia fireworks with several dropdowns. I was then linking the drop downs to other files in the same folder. For example one of the addresses was: file:///D:/School/ICT/ICT%20website/Unit%202/A02/3%20Revision%20German.html

But when I export it into dreamweaver and then preview it in google chrome, it says webpage is not found. and this is the addess I get
file:///E:/ICT%20website/Unit%202/A02/3%20Revision%20German.html

I did not do anything to the address. For one it cut some folders out (the school folder, the ICT folder) and also it changed from D: to E:
any idea what is going on here!! I am only year 11!

Thank You
DreamweaverDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:47 AM   #2
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Hi Dan

Have you defined your website correctly? That may be a cause. Also, try and leave spaces out of file/page names. Break them up with - or _ so call your page 3-Revision-German.html
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:59 AM   #3
DreamweaverDan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Define the website?? and i will try the no space thing, that answered that question, but why have some folder been cut out of the file path?
DreamweaverDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 09:16 AM   #4
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Yes, you need to define your site before you start; http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/cs5-setup.php
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 09:21 AM   #5
DreamweaverDan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Default

i am not making it to go live on the internet, if thats what your getting at mate?
DreamweaverDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:08 AM   #6
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

No, I got that If you define your website correctly then Dreamweaver will automatically make all your linking paths correct. You don't have to define a remote host but you should define your local folders where your website pages will be developed.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:26 PM   #7
DreamweaverDan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Default

ok i defined the website, but now the navbar has no dropdowns when i imported the exported fireworks file!!! what is wrong today!!
DreamweaverDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:15 PM   #8
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Can you show us the code for your page please Dan? Might be easier to debug what is happening.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 01:57 PM   #9
DreamweaverDan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Default

where i find that... i dont do coding! bare with me guys i am only at gsce level
DreamweaverDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 02:00 PM   #10
DreamweaverDan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Default

and, the navbar doesnt recognise all my webpages!
DreamweaverDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com