logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2011, 09:55 PM   #1
songboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 115
Default problem with site reference in Google

Hi to all.
My site is live. I've used 'Attracta' and Google 'webmaster tools' to push my site on the internet. Here's a really ironic and annoying thing. I was using a 'dummy' html page (/index.html) to show that the site was being developed. I reached a point where I thought the site worked so I got rid of the 'dummy' page and now my actual index page is /index.php
Having waited a few days, I started getting reports back from Google. However, when using the search engine to find a reference to my site, I found that, indeed, there was a reference to my site but the reference was to the old html page and the caption reads 'site being developed'. When you click it, you arrive at my actual index page. The thing that is annoying is that the caption is possibly going to put people off. What I don't get is that the html index page no longer exists on my site - how is it that there is a reference to that page at all ? Also, will that reference vanish and be replaced with a current reference ?
Could someone explain this situation for me ?
All the best -
Songboy
songboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 01:36 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by songboy View Post
What I don't get is that the html index page no longer exists on my site - how is it that there is a reference to that page at all ?
Googles index is not real time. They have a copy of the temporary page, that you submitted to them. They did exactly what you apparently wanted from them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by songboy View Post
Also, will that reference vanish and be replaced with a current reference ?
Yes
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 09:13 PM   #3
songboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 115
Default

Thanks Dome for the advice. It looks like it's a bit of a waiting situation.
All the best -
Songboy
songboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com