logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > HTML and CSS
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2011, 03:10 PM   #1
lynzberry
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Unhappy CSS drop down menu and IE!!

Hi All

I am relatively new to Dreamweaver and trying desperately to design a website for a friend. I found a tutorial for doing CSS drop down menus which works fine in Chrome except for 1 thing - where the menu item is too long for a single line it goes onto 2 lines, but the background box doesn't change size.

The main problem is that the hover menus don't work in IE 8 or 9! Soooo frustrated as I can't find any way to fix this. Have searched extensively over the web and tried some fixes but nothing seems to work.

Here is the code:

@charset "utf-8";
#navMenu {
margin:0;
padding:0;
}

#navMenu ul {
margin:0;
padding:0;
line-height:30px;

}

#navMenu li {
margin:0;
padding:0;
list-style:none;
float:left;
position:relative;
background-image:url(../../images/bg_navbar.jpg);
background:repeat;
background-color:#0b3183;
}

#navMenu ul li a {
text-align:center;
font-family:Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-stretch:ultra-condensed;
font-size:13px;
text-decoration:none;
height:30px;
width:103px;
display:block;
color:#FFF;
border:1px solid #FFF;

}

#navMenu ul ul {
position:absolute;
visibility:hidden;
top:32px;

}

#navMenu ul li:hover ul {
visibility:visible;
margin:0;
display:inline;
}

/************************************************** ********/

#navMenu li:hover {
background:#3399ff;
margin:0;
}

#navMenu ul li:hover ul li a:hover {
background:#99ccff;
color:#000;
margin:0;
}

#navMenu a:hover {
color:#000;
}

.clearFloat {
clear:both;
margin:0;
padding:0;

The website is www.beechbehaviourcentre.co.uk

If anyone could help it would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
lynzberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:06 PM   #2
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

I only see one box where the text bleeds over. Is there another? Why not just reduce the text? The use of the word vet for example in 'vet referral form' is redundant; it's a vet site. Just say 'referral form' .
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:23 PM   #3
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

Unrelated, but move this tag from line 1 to somewhere down below your title in the "head" section.
HTML Code:
<meta name="keywords" content="dog, dogs, training, behaviour, behavioural problems, aggression, fears, anxieties, recall, paws, lead, canine, communication, vet, referral, bach flower remedies, rescue remedy, barking, attention seeking" /><meta name="description" content="Has your dog got a behavioural problem? Does your dog need professional training? We use modern methods to help your dog overcome their problem in the gentlest way possible. " />
Then at lines 128 & 129 change the following:
Code:
<link href="contact/css/consultForm.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="contact/css/dropdown.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
 
 

to
Code:
<link href="css/consultForm.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<link href="css/dropdown.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

The consult line above is an unrelated problem you haven't noticed yet. Fixing these broken links will solve your other browser issues.
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:26 PM   #4
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

And then please forgive my lack of manners...
Welcome to the forum
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 04:29 PM   #5
lynzberry
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Red face

Well thanks John. I've set up that whole website after following a few dvd tutorials and books I've read! Wish I'd never started but am please that I'm finally getting somewhere.

Problem is, when something doesn't do what's expected it's so hard to find out why. I've posted questions elsewhere, but haven't received any replies, so hopefully this forum will be my saviour!!
lynzberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 05:25 PM   #6
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lynzberry View Post
Problem is, when something doesn't do what's expected it's so hard to find out why.
It's is really hard, almost impossible to sue Dreamweaver to make a web site if you don't know the basics. HTML, CSS etc.
This is IMHO, I know people disagree about this.

Squarespace is an example of a service that let's you build a web site without the technical skills needed to build a web site in DW.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 05:33 PM   #7
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
It's is really hard, almost impossible to use Dreamweaver to make a web site if you don't know the basics. HTML, CSS etc.
The baptism by fire approach is a method used by a lot of people, Coding is not an intuitive game, you have to have at bare minimum a solid basic education. The answer I gave above solves your problem assumedly, but doesn't explain why. It's too much to get into here. Don't knock yourself too hard, all things take time, but if you really want to do it right, read up
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 09:47 PM   #8
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

uhm.. that was _not_ a reply to me, right John?
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 09:52 PM   #9
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

I know there's a joke in there somewhere, I'm still trying to figure it out
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 09:55 PM   #10
johnMoss
johnMoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 867
Default

If a legit question though, referring to the premise that many who first start using dreamweaver are expecting it might walk them through the process, which of course it doesn't...
__________________
LinkedIn: jM
johnMoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com