logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2011, 04:08 AM   #1
Erin
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Default Site not compatible with Internet Explorer 7

I am somewhat new to web design, but I am designing a website for a client. The site is done and uploaded via filezilla with no problems or so I thought. My client is using Internet Explorer 7, and although the site looks perfectly normal in safari, chrome, firefox, and even internet explorer 9, the site is not loading properly for her. The site is simple just rollover buttons and jpg images as the main graphics on the page. The buttons are working correctly yet none of the jpg images are. I have no idea what to do and I am in a time crunch, please help!
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 04:14 AM   #2
Erin
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Default

sorry forgot the url: www.twistityoga.com
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 07:05 AM   #3
d a v e
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,684
Default

well one BIG problem is that all the images are HUGE, both in pixel and filesize.

you need to:
1. resize them to the correct size in your graphics application
2. export them as png-8 (no, not png-24) (jpegs only for photos and images with gradients that won't work as gif or png8
3. use some real text on the front page, and not use what is essentially a splash page - you're not giving search engines enough to find the site and making it possibly inaccessible to those using screen readers
4. test in multiple browsers before making a site live (google IEtester)
5. in IE7 the images load for me except the main twist-it image - because it's CMYK! (should be RGB)
6. omg - you made the whole site in images? please say you didn't and without proper alt attributes too...
7. learn how to design for the web before taking on any other sites
9. go somewhere like here http://htmldog.com/

visually it's ok but otherwise this site is a complete mess
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 08:31 AM   #4
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

We have super-fast broadband in this office and it took over 15 seconds to load the 'text-free' home page. Please, please, please take Dave's advice on board... And I mean every bit of it. You can't sell that as a website!
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 02:12 PM   #5
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Erin, a random page on your web site is over 5 mb big.

We all start somewhere and what you have to do now is to learn about the techniques and practices of web design. Thid has nothing to do with how to operate DW, but how a web page is made. Pick up a book (sitepoint has a good one). Also find a way to learn how to optimize images for the web. A person without a internet broadband connection will probably never see the web site right now.

Dave's advice is excellent.

.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 07:34 PM   #6
Erin
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Default Ouch.

harsh. but i totally understand i shouldn't have taken on this project without better understanding of web design. Your advice was excellent though and I will get straight to it. Thank you so much everyone
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 08:28 AM   #7
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
harsh. but i totally understand i shouldn't have taken on this project without better understanding of web design. Your advice was excellent though and I will get straight to it. Thank you so much everyone
Yes, sorry but it is meant with the best intentions I promise. When your client comes back and says 'no one can find the website you built for me in Google' you are going to feel much worse. Best to nip bad habits in the bud now.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 05:12 PM   #8
Erin
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Totally understandable. I resized everything and converted to png and it worked like a charm. Still a little slow but at least it is visible to everyone, my client included. Now that I have that up, I can work on the site properly and have to be rushed Thanks everyone for all your help!
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 10:59 PM   #9
d a v e
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,684
Default

i did say png 8-bit and specifically NOT 24-bit png (png-8 is equivalent-ish to gifs)
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 03:33 AM   #10
Erin
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Oh I didn't have an option of which kind, the option was just PNG.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com