logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > HTML and CSS
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2011, 03:38 PM   #1
SilverAce
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 60
Default Table backgrounds with DW5.5

Okay, so I have been looking everywhere for a good answer and also did a forum search to see if this was asked before. Here's my question-

I'm trying to set up a table and then put an individual background on it, yet I cant. Every time I try to edit the properties it only has a bar to select background color, not image. Then, I try to add a CSS rule to edit the background of it, and cant get anything.

Everywhere I look everyone says I should have a "select background image" option, but I don't. Anyone have experience with this problem? Thanks in advance!
SilverAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 03:44 PM   #2
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Have you tried giving your table an ID and then adding the background using CSS?
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 03:51 PM   #3
SilverAce
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
Have you tried giving your table an ID and then adding the background using CSS?
You are a god. Thank you. Haha!

I'm smiling right now, I couldn't figure it out!
SilverAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 03:53 PM   #4
SilverAce
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 60
Default

Real quick follow up question. How can I get a table to be aligned perfectly to the top of the page? I always feel like there is a small gap between the tables and walls. Thank you so much!
SilverAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 09:34 AM   #5
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

You are not using Tables to lay out your website... are you?

The problem is default styles on the body tag. Try;

Code:
body {margin: 0; padding: 0;}
To zero out the default margins and padding.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 02:49 PM   #6
SilverAce
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 60
Default

I am, haha. This is week 1 of webdesign, everywhere I looked said use tables. What do you suggest? this is my website I made like 2 days ago www.electroniccigarette-electroniccigarette.com it was all done on tables.
SilverAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 04:28 PM   #7
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

You want to use divs for layout (or with html5 syntactical elements such as <header> <footer> etc.). A good place to start is by taking a look at the html and css in the built in layouts that are part of DW5.5.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 04:44 PM   #8
SilverAce
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 60
Default

Okay, thanks DW. How did you think my website was? Was there anything you would change to make it better?
SilverAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 04:45 PM   #9
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

What DWCourse said
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 05:36 PM   #10
SilverAce
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 60
Default

If you don't mind me asking, what is the advantage of using more div's than tables? I find I can do most things with tables. Excuse me if that's a terrible question, I'm new, haha.
SilverAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com