logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > HTML and CSS
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2011, 04:55 PM   #1
designer_282
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 31
Default CSS3 Dreamweaver issue

I was messing around with css3 and noticed that in Dreamweaver it's not showing the code I'm typing in. I know the code is correct because I was on the w3school.com editor and pasted in the code and it worked.

So, does Dreamweaver support CSS3?

Here's the code I was playing with for reference:

HTML Code:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<style type="text/css">
div {
	width: 300px;
	height:300px;
	background-color:#0033FF;
	box-shadow: 10px 10px 10px #999;
}

</style>
</head>

<body>
<div></div>
</body>
</html>
designer_282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 05:53 PM   #2
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

Design View? Probably not. Live View? Maybe. Modern browser? For sure.

What version of DW do you have?
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 06:14 PM   #3
designer_282
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gentleone View Post
Design View? Probably not. Live View? Maybe. Modern browser? For sure.

What version of DW do you have?
Nothing on live view or design view.
I have dreamweaver cs5.5
designer_282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 06:28 PM   #4
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

Okay... well, the renderring engine of DW is WebKit, so you probably need to add the vendor prefix of WebKit. And don't forget Mozilla prefix for Firefox 3.
http://www.mightymeta.co.uk/1103/no-...ndor-prefixes/
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 06:48 PM   #5
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Design view you can forget about showing CSS3 in live view you'll need the webkit and mozilla extensions as mentioned:

-webkit-box-shadow: 10px 10px 10px 10px #999;
-moz-box-shadow: 10px 10px 10px 10px #999;
box-shadow: 10px 10px 10px 10px #999;

Still won't work with pre version 9 IE.

There's a simple CSS3 generator at http://css3generator.com/
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com