logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Flash
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2011, 06:11 PM   #1
TDG-Bradders
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Default Flash Buttons Not Working On Site?

Right if i preview my site in dreamweaver the link works and it takes me to my page

But when i upload the button and the page then try clicking on it on my website it just doesnt do anything

I have the latest Flash Player
I'am using Firefox, but i have tried on Internet Explorer
I Have tried on several computers


I will thank you so much for any help

Kind regards brad.
TDG-Bradders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 06:39 PM   #2
TDG-Bradders
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Button code:

<object classid="clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0" width="100" height="23" title="Xbox 360">
<param name="movie" value="Button 1.swf" />

<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF" /><param name="QUALITY" value="high" />
<embed src="Button 1.swf" width="100" height="23" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" bgcolor="#FFFFFF"></embed>
</object>
TDG-Bradders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:22 PM   #3
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

TDG-Bradders:
Please don't double post if you get impatient... I've merged the threads.

re your issue.. the space in the swf name could be your problem... some FTP clients don't like spaces... rename the file and use a dash or an underscore to seperate.
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:22 PM   #4
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

That's just the embed code not the code for the Flash file its self.

Is this just a button you created in Dreamweaver?

Web browser won't have any effect with Flash mate as its played through the Flash player not the web browser.

Send me a link and I'll have a look for you.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:31 PM   #5
TDG-Bradders
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Default

www.thedefiantgamers.co.uk

Its just the xbox 360 page it doesnt work i resaved and upload the button with out any spaces but its still not worked

*Sorry about double posting thought i had done in wrong section
TDG-Bradders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:58 PM   #6
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

None of the buttons work for me.

Did you insert them via Dreamweaver or do you have the FLA files for them?

If I'm being honest with you mate I wouldn't even do these buttons in Flash you could do these with simple images with such a simple effect that you have.

The problem with Flash buttons is that they can't be seen on devices without Flash such as the iPhone and iPad and there's just no point when you are doing such a basic animation.

If you had some really swish menu system then the argument to use Flash would be stronger but for these its just point less.

Google will also find it difficult / impossible to index your site with these buttons.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 05:11 PM   #7
TDG-Bradders
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Default

achually i think ive thought about it, i havent created another webspage on my site like my domain is www.thedefiantgamers.co.uk but do i have to create a sub domain or something so it goes to something like www.thedefiantgamers.co.uk/xbox360

TDG-Bradders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 01:20 PM   #8
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDG-Bradders View Post
achually i think ive thought about it, i havent created another webspage on my site
I'm a bit confused now, because you said that you link to pages in your first post, but they only work if you preview in Dreamweaver.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDG-Bradders View Post
Right if i preview my site in dreamweaver the link works and it takes me to my page
So what exactly do you mean with this?

Anyways... you'll have to create other pages and call the xbox page for instance xbox360.html and then you will have to link to them with your menu buttons. As we said these are Flash buttons, so you'll need the original .fla file to insert the links.
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 05:32 PM   #9
TDG-Bradders
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Default

I have changed the name of the file to xbox.html

what i was saying is that my domain name of my website is

www.thedefiantgamers.co.uk

on dreamweaver i have created another page aswell as my homepage, but to get that online will it make a page like www.defiantgamers.co.uk/xbox.html

or on my hosting control pannel of my site make a add on domain or something?

TDG-Bradders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 08:30 PM   #10
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

Quote:
on dreamweaver i have created another page aswell as my homepage, but to get that online will it make a page like www.defiantgamers.co.uk/xbox.html
Yes, If you upload that xbox page to your server in the root directory where your index.html file is then that would be indeed the URL for the xbox page.

A link to that page from a menu button would be then like this:
HTML Code:
<a href="xbox.html">xbox 360</a>
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com