logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > PHP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2011, 09:53 PM   #1
gigiloumill
gigiloumill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 493
Default Strange....

Guys, I am trying to send text into a database to echo with a pagination script. I get to send but, my problem is when echoing the info does not link to where it's suppose to go. I checked the text code and I notice that the text has extra forward slashes on links..Does any one have any idea how to fix? This is how it goes in:
Code:
<div class="content">
  <div class="content_pic"><a href="http://www.cnn.com" target="_blank"><img src="http://test.highoctaneclubs.com/images/plane.jpg" width="200" height="150" align="left" /></a></div>
  <div class="content_info"><h3>
    <h3><a href="http://www.cnn.com" target="_blank">u.s. fighter jet crashes in lybia<br />
    </a></h3>
    <p><a href="http://www.cnn.com">A U.S. Air Force F-15 jet has crashed in Libya, the U.S. military said. Two crew members -- a pilot and a weapons officer -- ejected from the plane, and both have been recovered. FULL STORY.</a><br />
      <br />
    </p>
  </div>
</div>
and how it echoes:

Code:
<div class=\"content\"> <div class=\"content_pic\"><a href=\"http://www.cnn.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"images/plane.jpg\" width=\"200\" height=\"150\" align=\"left\" /></a></div> <div class=\"content_info\"><h3> <h3><a href=\"http://www.cnn.com\" target=\"_blank\">u.s. fighter jet crashes in lybia</a><br /> </h3> <p>A U.S. Air Force F-15 jet has crashed in Libya, the U.S. military said. Two crew members -- a pilot and a weapons officer -- ejected from the plane, and both have been recovered. <a href=\"http://www.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/africa/03/22/libya.civil.war/index.html?hpt=C1\">FULL STORY</a>.<br /> <br /> </p> </div> </div>
Thanks

Last edited by Corrosive; 03-23-2011 at 12:42 PM.. Reason: wrapped code
gigiloumill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 01:05 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,204
Default

use echo stripslashes( ); im guesing the script uses addslashes
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 11:02 AM   #3
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

Yes Ed is correct

Your script is escaping quotes in order to mitigate against SQL injection and other nasties

Look for a function addslashes() in your code

You need to stripslashes on the variable output
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 11:34 AM   #4
gigiloumill
gigiloumill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 493
Default

Thank you guys, here's what I got from support at server: "I have verified the issue at http://test.highoctaneclubs.com/pagination.php?page=20 and its nothing to do with the server side. You have scripted to fetch the value from the database and pass it through the URL test.highoctaneclubs.com laong with /""URL/". You need to alter the script to display only URL. Unfortunately, we don't debug the customer scripts. "

and here's the code:
PHP Code:
$dbh=mysql_connect($host,$username,$password) or die ('I cannot connect to the database because: ' mysql_error());
@
mysql_select_db($database);
    
// include your code to connect to DB.

    
$tbl_name="info";        //your table name
    // How many adjacent pages should be shown on each side?
    
$adjacents 3;
    
    
/* 
       First get total number of rows in data table. 
       If you have a WHERE clause in your query, make sure you mirror it here.
    */
    
$query "SELECT COUNT(*) as num FROM $tbl_name";
    
$total_pages mysql_fetch_array(mysql_query($query));
    
$total_pages $total_pages[num];
    
    
/* Setup vars for query. */
    
$targetpage "pagination.php";     //your file name  (the name of this file)
    
$limit 3;                                 //how many items to show per page
    
$page $_GET['page'];
    if(
$page
        
$start = ($page 1) * $limit;             //first item to display on this page
    
else
        
$start 0;                                //if no page var is given, set start to 0
    
    /* Get data. */
    
$sql "SELECT name FROM $tbl_name ORDER BY id DESC LIMIT $start$limit";
    
$result mysql_query($sql);
    
    
/* Setup page vars for display. */
    
if ($page == 0$page 1;                    //if no page var is given, default to 1.
    
$prev $page 1;                            //previous page is page - 1
    
$next $page 1;                            //next page is page + 1
    
$lastpage ceil($total_pages/$limit);        //lastpage is = total pages / items per page, rounded up.
    
$lpm1 $lastpage 1;                        //last page minus 1
    
    /* 
        Now we apply our rules and draw the pagination object. 
        We're actually saving the code to a variable in case we want to draw it more than once.
    */
    
while($row mysql_fetch_array($result)){
        echo 
"".$row['name']."<br />";
    }  
    
$pagination "";
    if(
$lastpage 1)
    {    
        
$pagination .= "<div class=\"pagination\">";
        
//previous button
        
if ($page 1
            
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$prev\"> previous</a>";
        else
            
$pagination.= "<span class=\"disabled\"> previous</span>";    
        
        
//pages    
        
if ($lastpage + ($adjacents 2))    //not enough pages to bother breaking it up
        
{    
            for (
$counter 1$counter <= $lastpage$counter++)
            {
                if (
$counter == $page)
                    
$pagination.= "<span class=\"current\">$counter</span>";
                else
                    
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$counter\">$counter</a>";                    
            }
        }
        elseif(
$lastpage + ($adjacents 2))    //enough pages to hide some
        
{
            
//close to beginning; only hide later pages
            
if($page + ($adjacents 2))        
            {
                for (
$counter 1$counter + ($adjacents 2); $counter++)
                {
                    if (
$counter == $page)
                        
$pagination.= "<span class=\"current\">$counter</span>";
                    else
                        
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$counter\">$counter</a>";                    
                }
                
$pagination.= "...";
                
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$lpm1\">$lpm1</a>";
                
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$lastpage\">$lastpage</a>";        
            }
            
//in middle; hide some front and some back
            
elseif($lastpage - ($adjacents 2) > $page && $page > ($adjacents 2))
            {
                
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=1\">1</a>";
                
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=2\">2</a>";
                
$pagination.= "...";
                for (
$counter $page $adjacents$counter <= $page $adjacents$counter++)
                {
                    if (
$counter == $page)
                        
$pagination.= "<span class=\"current\">$counter</span>";
                    else
                        
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$counter\">$counter</a>";                    
                }
                
$pagination.= "...";
                
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$lpm1\">$lpm1</a>";
                
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$lastpage\">$lastpage</a>";        
            }
            
//close to end; only hide early pages
            
else
            {
                
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=1\">1</a>";
                
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=2\">2</a>";
                
$pagination.= "...";
                for (
$counter $lastpage - (+ ($adjacents 2)); $counter <= $lastpage$counter++)
                {
                    if (
$counter == $page)
                        
$pagination.= "<span class=\"current\">$counter</span>";
                    else
                        
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$counter\">$counter</a>";                    
                }
            }
        }
        
        
//next button
        
if ($page $counter 1
            
$pagination.= "<a href=\"$targetpage?page=$next\">next </a>";
        else
            
$pagination.= "<span class=\"disabled\">next </span>";
        
$pagination.= "</div>\n";        
    }
    echo 
"\n".$pagination;
?> 
I don't see it..Any suggestions? Thanks
gigiloumill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 01:04 PM   #5
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

That script only generates the pagination

Do you have the script which pulls the data out of the database?
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 01:08 PM   #6
gigiloumill
gigiloumill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 493
Default

Never mind guys...E was right once again...Now it works, I added:
PHP Code:
<?php
echo stripslashes("");
?>
thanks..
gigiloumill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com