logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 03:09 PM   #1
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default Dreamweavers FTP client - Can it be used?

Since back in the yesteryears Dreamweavers FTP client has gotten a lot of flack, and many, including me, has suggested using separate FTP clients.

But FTP is FTP. It's not really a protocol that you can screw up with.
Well you can, but do we really believe that Adobe can't figure this out? C'mon..

So I'm just throwing this out there:

Is there really a problem with Dreamweavers FTP client, or are we just to lazy to set it up right?

http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/148/tn_14834.html
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/152/tn_15220.html
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/145/tn_14536.html
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 04:20 PM   #2
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Well, there is an issue with DW's ftp being slow sometimes which stems (I believe) from the extra site information and notes it stores. It can really become an issue when check in/check out is activated.

Then there is the issue of setting up the site correctly. You have to configure things to that DW dumps you into the correct folder (say public_html). It's not rocket science but it trips a lot of folks up. You'd think hosting companies would provide DW specific instructions but most don't.

But, I'd agree that Adobe could do better (and made some improvements in CS5).

But I do use the built in ftp a lot and I don't really have major problems.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 12:20 AM   #3
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

i havent used it since .. cant remember when
. My reasons for not using it is just that i prefer to work with 3rd party as i like to see the files on the server and the ease of changing permissions and rectifying any mistakes and drag and drop test files not in my local site , but it is just a personal preference as i feel it offers more but yes im also sure DW ftp can work.
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 05:06 PM   #4
lansharked
lansharked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Exclamation Check one more thing B4 you jump DW FTP ship...

Was about to dump use of Dreamweaver's FTP and switch to FileZilla for a new Windows 7 64-bit laptop on which I was able to successfully re-install Dreamweaver MX 2004 (aka Dreamweaver 7).

I had the weirdest error occurring... I could not update remote files after making changes locally (with check-in/check-out enabled) even though I was getting no errors. I had checked and re-checked root and folder paths in my site definitions, etc.

Low and behold I happened to copy and paste the full root folder and default images folder paths from the Dreameaver site def into Notepad and they were wrong! I went to update them to the right ones, used the navigate button and selected the correct directory (one level in), and then I noticed that there is a bug that would not update the directory in the site def after navigating to a different directory.

I had to manually type the correct directories for the three path definition fields and then IT WORKED!.

------------------------------------
Recap:

Manually define (DO NOT use the navigate button) these fields in your site's Site Definition record:

Local Info > Local root folder
Local Info > Default images folder
Site Map Layout > Home page


(you also need to include a trailing backslash '\' at the end of the first two paths)

This will also probably apply to Dreamweaver 8 users on Windows 7, btw.

Cheers!

Last edited by lansharked; 01-29-2011 at 05:11 PM..
lansharked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:21 PM   #5
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

And always make sure your software is patched. There has not been a version of DW that does not have patches available.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com