logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2010, 03:28 AM   #1
RandomlyKnighted
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Question Can't connect to server in Dreamweaver?

Hey everyone, I've got a computer that I've installed Windows Server 2008 on. I've installed IIS and installed FTP 7.5. I set it up so that I can log in using a certain username and password. I've been trying for a couple days not to connect to my server but I keep getting an error message when I try to connect. I'm so frustrated that I don't know what to do.

Any suggestions?

Last edited by RandomlyKnighted; 10-13-2010 at 03:29 AM.. Reason: Fixed title of thread
RandomlyKnighted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:35 AM   #2
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Is your server on a separate computer? How are you networked with that computer?
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:35 AM   #3
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

if you put the servers ip address in a browser do you get the localhost page come up?
if not do you getit while on your server and you go to localhost? i so check firewall settings
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:40 AM   #4
RandomlyKnighted
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Default

@DWcourse....my server is a separate computer on my home network


@edbr...when I type in my server's ip address on my home computer it gives me a server 403 error message

I'm running Dreamweaver CS4...DWcourse I signed up for your mini course to make sure that I was doing it right and I still get the problems.
RandomlyKnighted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:54 AM   #5
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

403 suggests the server is there but rejecting inbound connections. i am clueless with iis but is there a 'publish' server option?
i would definitely check the firewall settings
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:54 AM   #6
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

My course isn't going to answer this question.

Is the IP address correct? And don't you need something besides just the IP address to connect to the server like the path to the root folder of the server? #shotinthedark
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:22 PM   #7
RandomlyKnighted
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Default

I have attached a picture of what I have entered into Dreamweaver. I put the ftp host and the host directory in the correct boxes. I'm still getting the problem.
RandomlyKnighted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:37 PM   #8
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

No picture attached.

What's the error message that Dreamweaver gives when you hit the Test button in the server setup?

Here's some info on 403 errors: http://www.checkupdown.com/status/E403.html Can you put an HTML file in the server directory some other way and then see if you can see it in your browser?
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 04:08 PM   #9
RandomlyKnighted
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Default

I put in a html file and it still gives me the Error 403. I put ftp.onehughes.com into my browser and tried to connect but it says that my username and password is incorrect and I know it's right because I set it up myself.
RandomlyKnighted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 04:47 AM   #10
RandomlyKnighted
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Default

I fixed the problem with the error 403. It was pointing to the wrong directory.

I tried to log in to ftp.onehughes.com but I keep getting the This Page Cannot Be Displayed message. Any ideas?
RandomlyKnighted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com