logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2010, 12:51 AM   #1
tony09uk
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 340
Smile merging colums and professional menu's

Hi guys, this is my first time on her and have only been using dreamweaver for two days now....please forgive any stupid questions.

I will put all my questions I have so far in this one section to save clogging up the system to much.

Q1 - problems with tables!

I am currently trying to create a template 900pixels wide
Row 1: two coloums (413, 469 px) - DONE
Row 2: one coloum - DONE
now this is the complicated part for me...
Row 3: four colums (414, 94, 148, 220px) NOT DONE
Row 4: two coloums (663, 219 px.....i tried 662, 220 px but it kept jumpin back to 219:s)
Row 5: two coloums (663, 219 px and the same problem again)

a)how do i merge the last coloum together on rows 3,4 and 5?
b)also why is it jumping to a number and not the one I asked it to go to?
c)how do I add additional rows to my table?

Q2 - professional looking menu bar

I have added a spry table to row two but it looks dull and very amature-ish (i know i am but it don't want the site to look like it) I created an image in photoshop to put on the menu but cant work out how to do it

a)how do i add a professional look to a spry menu bar?
b)do i do the same to add the same to the drop down menu's from the bar?
c)why does my insert>image objects only have "placeholder" "rollover images" and fireworks HTML"? a youtube video I saw in his options "navigation bar"

Q3 - tabbed menu bar

I am looking to put a lot of information on my page and to make the site tidy i want to section much of it on the one page. I have seen tabbed menu's such as this one http://www.nyokiglitter.com/tutorials/tabs.html just in a different colour. I have tried using spry tabbed panels and inserting it into row 4. but it dosn't look like I want it to and it seems to be quite spread out - the content sits in row 4 while the tabs are up in row 1, but when I preview it, it looks fine, just an unprofessional edge again.

a)how do i get it to look like the example?
b)how do I get it to look similar or the same in the editor as it does in the browser
c)if I save this as part of my template will it be an editable item?

I know that was a long one but hopefully it will get my main current issues out the way. If you know of any good tutorial sites I would be greatful of any links. I have found a couple of average ones.

Thanks guys
tony09uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 01:00 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

Quote:
Q1 - problems with tables!
A! dont use them for layout. use relative positioned dives . Tables are old and bad news to be used for layout
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 01:02 AM   #3
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

Quote:
Q2 - professional looking menu bar
perhaps if you use images as background. hard to say without seeing it
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 01:03 AM   #4
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

Quote:
Q3 - tabbed menu bar
see A1 that might cure your problem
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:38 AM   #5
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

2C: That option is not available in "modern" versions of Dreamweaver (it produced crappy, non-standard html).
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:40 AM   #6
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Q1: Try the built in layouts that are available in Dreamweaver:

Menu: File>New then select Blank Page, Page Type: HTML and one of the several 1, 2 or 3 column layouts. Click create.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:34 AM   #7
tony09uk
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 340
Default

thanks for your reply I will try them out and get back with more questions.....
tony09uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com