logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2010, 08:37 PM   #1
godfather55v
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: iowa
Posts: 4
Default site setup w/ php mysql

i'm working on my first site that's using php and mysql. setup wamp on my pc and it works fine and the site works fine.

I want it so i can point at my hosting providers mysql server while using local apache as my testing server. However when i do this i have to make my URL prefix of the testing server the accual domain name (not local host) or my database connection is toast. However if it's set as the actual domain name then "live view" doesn't work.

any idea's,
matt
godfather55v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 05:31 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,176
Default

the connection to the srver is often (but not always) mysql.mydomain.com also remote connection may have to be authorised on your domain, you maybe able to do this from your control panel
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 03:53 PM   #3
godfather55v
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: iowa
Posts: 4
Default

maybe there is a better way then what i'm doing.


pics are worth a thousand words

when i have local host as the url prefix the live view works but my "mysql" connection to my hosting provider gives me this.


and vise/verse if i have the proper domain name of the site I'm developing for (which is the hosting providers server) then live view dies and the mysql connection works fine.

In developing static pages in the past i have always setup my local as testing and remote as production. Should i be looking at doing something differently when developing dynamic pages?

Any help is greatly appreciated!!
godfather55v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 02:21 AM   #4
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,176
Default

let me run through the basic , no offense meant but im not sure you have got it from your questions but i may be wrong

in the pic you are defining the server for your html pages the mysql server is a different connection which you establish witha php connection script using host, on your testing server this will be localhost but if you try to connect remotely it will be different
user
password these you set up and give permissions to .

as for work practice i personally dont work that way at all.
testing servers to me are to work untill i am satisfied with the result and only then will i upload to the live site. IMO if you use the live site as you suggest , then you are actually using the live server as a testing server and as for connecting to a remote mysql server is little point but as i say thats my preferred way, im betting not everyone would agree
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:44 PM   #5
godfather55v
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: iowa
Posts: 4
Default

thanks for the advice, i'm currently doing just that (working completely locally and then uploading my database and files as i get a chunk completed.) However i still like to find a way to develop php locally while pointing to a remote database. As the amount of data grows it's going to get tire sum and tedious to keep them all synced up. Maybe you have some answers for me there too?

thanks again!
godfather55v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 02:35 AM   #6
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,176
Default

have a look at this there is a free version http://www.sqlmanager.net/en/products/mysql/manager
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 11:12 AM   #7
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

You may find that hosts dont allow 3rd party mysql manager apps to connect to remote db's

most hosts provide some means of admin to your database in the form of phpmyadmin or similar
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 02:14 AM   #8
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,176
Default

does that apply with the tunneling that they use david? i had thought that was generally allowed
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 09:43 AM   #9
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

you can use tunnelling on some services

1&1 dont allow this
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com