logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2010, 02:37 PM   #1
Aeycaterna
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 6
Red face Basic question re: importing files

Hi there,

I am a tech writer just now learning web development. Someone asked me to change the content and some font sizes on their existing site. OK, no big deal. I can handle content development and handle changing fonts. Here's the dumb part: I can't figure out how to actually get their files into Dreamweaver so I can edit things. I can connect to their host no problem.... How do I import all of the files into Dreamweaver? (I do want to import them all. The directory as it sits on the host server is very unorganized and I can't tell what's what and on top of that it looks like 50% of the files may be unused).

Shake your head and chuckle at my cluelessness, but please, please help this newbie! Any advice would be appreciated!

A
Aeycaterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:12 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

What kind of files is it?
Any more info you can share?
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:17 PM   #3
Aeycaterna
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 6
Default files

Hi, Thanks for replying. Well there are a variety of files just like with any website. Maybe I didn't ask my question right. There is an existing website and I want to download it - the whole thing - so I can edit it in Dreamweaver.
There must be a way because I know that if you create a site anew and then publish it you somehow later can replace files on the server with updates.

Thanks,
A
Aeycaterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 03:33 PM   #4
Aeycaterna
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 6
Default

Hey Domedia, I got it - duh - get files with the great big down arrow. Thanks again for replying though. I need to learn to be more patient and look around more before I go asking folks and wasting your time.



A
Aeycaterna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 02:27 AM   #5
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Glad you solved it
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com