logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Web Design
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-07-2010, 11:19 AM   #1
cheesey30

Default in page search

Hi all, please bear with me as I am new to DW and not much of a coder. I would like to to produce a box feature on a page which search that page for text on submit as in the Ctrl+F button.
I'm guessing it's probably javascript or perl etc but I was wondering if there was a way to do it in DW.

Thanks in advance
cheesey30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 11:44 AM   #2
davidj

you can add a search using Googles own code API

http://www.google.com/cse/
Old 05-14-2010, 12:53 PM   #3
DWcourse

Don't all browsers already have a page search function (control+f) built in (mine do)? Why duplicate it?
Old 05-14-2010, 07:36 PM   #4
cheesey30

Thanks davidj, i have looked at Google's option but as i am more of a designer than coder i have struggled to manipulate the code/script to work on a specific page in my site.

DW ... yes they do but i am attempting to teach viewers who probably have never heard of Ctrl+F.
Basically what i need is a search for text box which highlights and jumps to the particular word or string (javascript lingo i think) due to the fact that a large number of users who may visit my site are not be computer literate and would be confused by Ctrl+F.
I would like a 'search this site' box for a specific page.
Please excuse my ignorance, but having only just migrated from (sorry for the foul language here) frontpage (quick ... run away ... another idiot) i was just wondering if DW had something which would do this.
I realise, obviously not. But i was hoping some kind person may know of a simple way around this (ie a js script which works cross browser).
Thank myou very much for your input guys

Cheesey
Old 05-14-2010, 08:07 PM   #5
DWcourse

Try http://www.javascripter.net/faq/searchin.htm
Old 05-14-2010, 08:47 PM   #6
cheesey30