logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2010, 08:35 AM   #1
librarian
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default cannot ftp through school network

Hi,
I can ftp with Dreamweaver fine from home, but not at school. Have read all adobe support info and all my remote site definitions are OK and host IP address is ok.

I can ftp from inside school using Filezilla, but I really prefer to use Dreamweaver to maintain correct file synchronisation and put dependent files in correct place

I have spent a morning online with our firewall provider - they can't solve it, all ports are open. They have suggested its an IP address or DNS setting on school network, but my IT guy insists it is a Dreamweaver problem and won't help.

The really strange thing is that the "test" button on site definition says it can successfully connect, yet as soon as I "put" or click on "connect to remote server" I instantly get error "cannot connect, remote host cannot be found".
librarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 01:29 PM   #2
cocoonfx
cocoonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tamworth,UK
Posts: 576
Default

it will be local settings i.e your IT department don't want you to FTP using dreamweaver..... I have the same problem where I work. However if you got filezilla working just amend the files and then upload them through filezilla.
cocoonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 05:51 PM   #3
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

I assume you tried checking the use passive ftp in the remote site setup?
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 09:59 AM   #4
librarian
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWcourse View Post
I assume you tried checking the use passive ftp in the remote site setup?
Yes, got a really useful technote from adobe http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/148/tn_14834.html which might help others on this forum, and worked through all the possible solutions, but no luck.
librarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com