logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 09:46 PM   #1
Dgriff
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default I cant view my os commerce site in DW

Hi there.

Since this is my very first post (actually it's my second. First post in Introduction!). I have a very basic question. I am beginning to try to customize my os commerce website. Only problem is, I cant seem to be able to view my homepage in DW. I go to the local files pane over to the right and I see all of my files and folders but I must be clicking on the wrong file. I am going to: catalog/includes/languages/english/index.php but all I see are empty boxes with php beside them. I looked at quite a few tutorials but they just showed how to build a site from scratch. They didn't show how to edit an existing site. Help! Thanks.
Dgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:03 PM   #2
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Your trying to update a dynamic php-based site in Dreamweaver and that's really not what Dreamweaver is for (although the just announced CS5 version is supposed to offer much better support for that).

Basically your question leads me to believe you're not at a level where you should be trying to edit a the code of a dynamic, php site.

If you're just hoping to update products, etc.,most e-commerce sites offer an interface for that and also for making some design changes.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 10:30 AM   #3
Dgriff
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWcourse View Post
Your trying to update a dynamic php-based site in Dreamweaver and that's really not what Dreamweaver is for (although the just announced CS5 version is supposed to offer much better support for that).

Basically your question leads me to believe you're not at a level where you should be trying to edit a the code of a dynamic, php site.

If you're just hoping to update products, etc.,most e-commerce sites offer an interface for that and also for making some design changes.
Thanks for that. Actually, what I'm trying to do is add a header with a nav bar which I created in photoshop to my os commerce site. I thought I could use Dreamweaver to help me do this.
Dgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 10:52 AM   #4
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

You can do this with DW but the point DWC is making is that you won't be able to use Design View. You'll need to hand code it by changing the styles in the stylesheet.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 10:40 PM   #5
Dgriff
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
You can do this with DW but the point DWC is making is that you won't be able to use Design View. You'll need to hand code it by changing the styles in the stylesheet.
Thank you. Yes, I am at a very beginner stage but I will try and inport the header onto a blank html page and see how I can plug the code into my header.php file in my os commerce site. Thanks for your help. I'll have a look at the CS5 version too. Thanks again.
Dgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 06:02 AM   #6
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

You shouldn't really need to touch the header.php I don't think. You'll need to dive into the stylesheet. It will have .css as it's file extension. You may want to do some background reading on CSS in the meantime.

A store is a pretty big project for a noob. I wish you good luck
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 01:52 PM   #7
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

If you edit the core files in a CMS, e-commerce site, etc. you can lose your changes when the product updates and you do need to keep up with the updates for security reasons.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 02:07 PM   #8
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWcourse View Post
If you edit the core files in a CMS, e-commerce site, etc. you can lose your changes when the product updates and you do need to keep up with the updates for security reasons.
Yes, good point. You MUST develop a new template as base templates will be updated when security updates etc happen.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com