logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Spry
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2010, 04:05 PM   #1
DerrickG3
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Default Spry Verticle Menu background image

I am trying to put a background iame on my spry vertivle menu.
so I made an image the size and shapre for wht I would need.

I added the image to: ul.MenuBarHorizontal a
but it treats the image as if it were a single peice for wach button.
But what I want is the whole panel to lay on top of my image.

Am I doing this wrong?
DerrickG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 08:33 PM   #2
DerrickG3
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Default

I have been doing some research on how to achieve my goal here and I am still a bit confused. Is it not possible to have 1 graphic image that the whole verticle menu sits in?
DerrickG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 08:34 PM   #3
DerrickG3
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Default

http://www.schylling.com/950-2.html This is my test page....

Any help would be greatly apprecaited.
DerrickG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 09:48 PM   #4
mangofreak
mangofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 444
Default

The background should be applied to the wrapper that holds the whole vertical menu not a particular UL. In this case it seems to be
Code:
<td width="165">
you could assign an ID to this particular TD and on the CSS page: apply the background image that you are talking about to the ID you'll use.
__________________
J.
DW | FW | HTML | CSS | ASP | some PHP | Windows | Ubuntu
mangofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 11:09 PM   #5
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

You've got that image applied all over the place. I'd begin by deleting the background image property everywhere within the menu except for:

ul.MenuBarVertical {
background-image:url(http://www.schylling.com/950/vert-img.png);
}

And see how things turn out.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 02:09 PM   #6
DerrickG3
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Default

Ok, I removed all the image tags and added this:
<td width="165" background="950/vert-img.png">

which looks ok in dreamweaver but on the site itself it still has a white background and the colored image behind it.
DerrickG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 02:20 PM   #7
DerrickG3
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Default

So I have to assign an ID to this Td: <td width="165">
In my CSS I have an ID called td-img which contains: url(http://www.schylling.com/950/vert-img.png)

How do I assign the ID to it?
DerrickG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 02:31 PM   #8
DerrickG3
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Default

Here is some more info:
I have this in my header: td-img {
background-image: url(http://www.schylling.com/950/vert-img.png);
}

and this for my column:
<td class="td-img" width="165">

THis is not working... so I have missed something baisc when it comes to assigning a style/.
DerrickG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 02:55 PM   #9
DerrickG3
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Default

Scrap that... I have made some updates and it looks like this:

Inside the <head>

<style type="text/css">
<!--
.cellback {
background: url(950/vert-img.png) repeat-x;
border-right: 1px solid black;
width: 160px;
padding: 2px;
}
-->
</style>

then:

<td width="65" height="380" class="cellback">


Which looks great in Dreamweaver but does not show on IE but does show in Safari and Firefox!
DerrickG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:20 PM   #10
mangofreak
mangofreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto-Canada
Posts: 444
Default

Here is a rough idea of the way you could go about it.

http://www.jcacreative1.com/test/test_back.php

Hopefully that will guide you somehow.
__________________
J.
DW | FW | HTML | CSS | ASP | some PHP | Windows | Ubuntu
mangofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com