logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Photoshop
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2010, 09:57 PM   #1
kearnsy
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 164
Default Slicing into dreamweaver without Tables

Hi Folks.

Right, let's see where do i start?

I've sliced up all my images in photoshop, ready to be exported into dreamweaver, i've edited the html output settings to generate css instead of tables, but the problem i have is, photoshop puts a table around everything and puts the div tags inside of the table.

i thought, because i've edited the settings to generate css instead of tables, it would generate a container tag instead of a table?

i'm fairly new to web design, so my question is would it be ok for me to remove the table and insert a container div in place of the table, or would that mess things up?

or have i missed something while exporting from photoshop and that's why there is a table?

thanks folks, i look forward to your responses.
kearnsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 10:13 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Yes remove the table. Letting PS write your HTML/CSS is usually a bad idea, so you should also be looking into writing your own code.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 11:24 PM   #3
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

When you save for web and devices with the settings

Format: HTML and Images
Settings: div

You should get only divs, no tables. However the "wrapper" div may have an id with the word table in it such as <div id="Table_01">.

Unfortunately all the divs will be absolutely positioned which is not much better than using tables. So, like domedia said, exporting HTML from Photoshop is a bad idea no matter how you slice it.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 12:15 PM   #4
kearnsy
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 164
Default

Cheers guys for your responses

As i said i'm fairly new to web design, so i'm trying to learn, sorry, cram as much in as i can.

So what's the best way to go about getting a layout from photoshop into dreamweaver then would you say?

Just out of interest, why is it bad to export slices from PS into DW?

thanks for your help chaps
kearnsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:26 PM   #5
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnsy View Post
why is it bad to export slices from PS into DW?
Because you end up with tables or AP divs, both of which will give you problems the minute you start editing your page (there are a variety of other reasons as well but I'll leave those to someone else).
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 05:05 PM   #6
kearnsy
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 164
Default

Thanks DW, so what do you suggest i do to get my PS slices into dreamweaver?
kearnsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 05:09 PM   #7
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Create your sliced graphics 'by hand'. Save the individual pieces for web (strips unnecessary code out) and then reconstruct using CSS in DW.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 05:14 PM   #8
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

You can also slice your images in Photoshop and then place them into a CSS-based layout you create. If you're new to the process, you can always start with one of the CSS layout built in to Dreamweaver. But, if you're planning to get serious about creating websites, you're going to have to understand both html and css and that take some time and effort.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:22 AM   #9
kearnsy
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 164
Default

Ha ha, i know what you mean about time and effort, i've lost so much sleep over the past couple of months trying to learn, going over and over the same thing only to be frustrated by something not sitting right on the page, or when something i expect to happen, doesn't happen.

It's so much easier and tempting to just export everything from PS and let that do all the work, but i'm determined to learn the right way to do it.

Ok, so let's see if i've got this right, i export just the images from PS, then re-create the page by building a container div, then lots of other div's where the sliced images go?

God, i feel like a div asking this 0... what's the best way to go about re-creating the tables, do i get the measurements of the slices and work it out like that?

Thanks for bearing with me on this one
kearnsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 06:20 AM   #10
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

I found a tutorial for you how to code a sliced up Photoshop design the right way.

http://freecss.info/free-css-tutoria...al-setting-up/
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com