logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2010, 01:34 PM   #1
fresh108
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Crawley
Posts: 5
Default Uploading from dreamweaver to host

Hey guys,

Completely new here to dreamweaver and the whole creating websites stuff.

So I've made a little website in dreamweaver 8 just for fun, wanting to learn new things. Now I've bought a domain and am hosting it.

What now? How do I make it into a website? Transfer it onto the host so it can be seen on the internet?

Any help or tutorials would be nice.

Thanks in advance.
fresh108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 04:12 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

The manual is your friend Start from the start and make sure you define your site and get everything set up right.

There's plenty of online tutorials around as well. Start going through them, make sure you set off some time for learning all this stuff.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 06:08 PM   #3
fresh108
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Crawley
Posts: 5
Default

cheers buddy. I did just that. Thing is I used a template off RVsitebuilder just to test the waters. Now would I have to completely delete all the files related to rvbuilder from the home directory on the hosts server before i ftp via dreamweaver? because my dreamweaver site still isnt up when i connect remotely and click on put file!
fresh108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 06:39 PM   #4
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fresh108 View Post
Now would I have to completely delete all the files related to rvbuilder from the home directory on the hosts server before i ftp via dreamweaver?
You don't have to but I'd recommend it. You may have file names there that will be overwritten. Clear everything and then put your index page.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:18 PM   #5
fresh108
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Crawley
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
You don't have to but I'd recommend it. You may have file names there that will be overwritten. Clear everything and then put your index page.
i have deleted files from file manager under the public_html folder.

You mentioned index.html...i have no such file as of yet but realise that i do need it. when i put i only have my front page which says under constructio which didnt "put" so i entered that page manually into public_html. now when you go on the site www.3pioneers.com the index page appears and i have to click on the enter page to view. i want that page to appear first thing.
fresh108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:21 PM   #6
fresh108
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Crawley
Posts: 5
Default

Its okay. I got it, its as simple as renaming it index.html! Duuhh
fresh108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:44 PM   #7
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fresh108 View Post
Its okay. I got it, its as simple as renaming it index.html! Duuhh
Awww. No fair... You beat me to a really sarcastic answer. Lol
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:04 PM   #8
fresh108
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Crawley
Posts: 5
Default

haha. too bad bro! Thinking about it dreamweavers not all that hard to use depending on what you want to do with it. I haven't messed about too much but so far Im having no trouble.
fresh108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 12:22 PM   #9
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Just make sure that you understand that you need plenty of background web knowledge (CSS/HTML) to use it correctly. The popular mis-conception (see other recent forum posts) is that DW will build your site for you.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 05:47 PM   #10
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Actually the "Build My Site Button" is the most requested feature for CS5. (the "Give Me Back My Tables" button is a close second).
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com