logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > Javascript and JS frameworks
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2010, 01:11 AM   #1
rockgirl84
rockgirl84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Default pop up window question

Hi guys
Me and my friend are currently working on our first website.
Up until now we have been able to direct ourselves through a few tutorials but got stuck.

Hope someone here can help us out.

Our question:

We managed to get the pop-up window going but somehow when the pop up window link is clicked the "parent" window will also reload itself
(our main window is a flash-based website.)

Can somebody please teach us how to stop it?

Thank you. XXX
rockgirl84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 01:50 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

the usual way is to use javascript to open a new pop up windowso it depends on how you have tried to create it, post your code
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 02:25 AM   #3
rockgirl84
rockgirl84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Default

we did it with the "behaviors" option
here is the code

<p align="center" class="style1"><a href="index.html" class="style3" style="text-decoration:none" onClick="MM_openBrWindow('/about.html','','scrollbars=yes,width=500,height=70 0');">Website made by.</a></p>
rockgirl84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:00 AM   #4
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

sorry, i cant see anything there that will make your parent page refresh
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 12:17 PM   #5
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

Perhaps its an idea to use a jQuery or Prototype based modal window. Smashing Magazine has listed different ones.

http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2009...rn-web-design/
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 03:20 PM   #6
rockgirl84
rockgirl84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Default

thanks for trying guys, i think we found the solution, it has something to do with adding a "return false" in the code.

It's working now .

Thanks with Love
XXX
rockgirl84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 02:10 PM   #7
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockgirl84 View Post
thanks for trying guys, i think we found the solution, it has something to do with adding a "return false" in the code.
That will make sure the window does not load the URL in the HREF attribute, this is how I do it as well.
By also changing the HREF attribute's value to the one used in the pop-up, the information is accessible if the JavaScript is not available or turned off.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com