logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2009, 08:00 PM   #1
golfsferr
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Default problem with background image

I reposted this because I think the original thread I attach it to was pretty old. If that was unneccessary I'll know next time.....

My problem is:
My background image loads just partly some of the time on my index page. The background image loads completely on all the other pages in my site. I'm using the same simple .GIF 300k image for my background on all pages on my site. I have a flash element that loads with the index page and don't have any flash elements loading with any other page. Could the flash element be disrupting the loading of my background image and if so is there a way to stop this. If you don't think the flash element is causing the problem, do you have any ideas on how to fix it? Thank you, Steve
golfsferr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 11:58 PM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,203
Default

you dont mention the size of the flash movie but it sounds like its the time taken to download. movie then 300 k can be a lot if the viewer has a slow download speed,
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 01:53 AM   #3
golfsferr
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Default

It is a slideshow of 13 gif images all prepared for the web in photoshop if that helps. When I tried to make the background have less pixels the image changed in size and no longer looked right. Any suggestions? Thanks for your time.
golfsferr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 02:02 AM   #4
golfsferr
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Default

The swf file is 52kb and the gif images are from 150 to 300kb according to the FTP client. Is this OK? Thanks
golfsferr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 02:32 AM   #5
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,203
Default

no 52 is fine then, i personally prefer images much smaller, i have much slower download speeds where i am , so i would say it depends on quality required and targert viewer.
post a link as it may not be this at all
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:12 AM   #6
golfsferr
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Default

www.michigangolfart.com

above is the Index.html and the only page that the problem occurs
Odd though, on my old dell laptop it never has a load issue but on my new 2 duocore processor and tons of gig, I experience the issue. You probably won't experience it either, but let me know. Thanks
golfsferr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:47 AM   #7
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,203
Default

i checked with ff and chrome and the movies plas the seems to reload
these errors were returnd mostly caused ny <br> on line 2 delete that then check your errors/warnings

Code:
Result: 0 errors / 14 warnings

line 2 column 44 - Warning: <br> isn't allowed in <head> elements
line 2 column 44 - Info: <head> previously mentioned
line 2 column 44 - Warning: inserting implicit <body>
line 3 column 1 - Warning: <head> isn't allowed in <body> elements
line 2 column 44 - Info: <body> previously mentioned
line 4 column 1 - Warning: <title> isn't allowed in <body> elements
line 2 column 44 - Info: <body> previously mentioned
line 5 column 1 - Warning: <meta> isn't allowed in <body> elements
line 2 column 44 - Info: <body> previously mentioned
line 6 column 1 - Warning: <meta> isn't allowed in <body> elements
line 2 column 44 - Info: <body> previously mentioned
line 7 column 1 - Warning: <meta> isn't allowed in <body> elements
line 2 column 44 - Info: <body> previously mentioned
line 8 column 1 - Warning: <meta> isn't allowed in <body> elements
line 2 column 44 - Info: <body> previously mentioned
line 9 column 1 - Warning: <style> isn't allowed in <body> elements
line 2 column 44 - Info: <body> previously mentioned
line 180 column 1 - Warning: </head> isn't allowed in <body> elements
line 2 column 44 - Info: <body> previously mentioned
line 182 column 1 - Warning: discarding unexpected <body>
line 226 column 5 - Warning: <embed> is not approved by W3C
line 190 column 18 - Warning: <img> escaping malformed URI reference
line 192 column 100 - Warning: <a> escaping malformed URI reference
Info: Doctype given is "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
Info: Document content looks like HTML Proprietary
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:56 AM   #8
golfsferr
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks but this is where my limited knowledge is exposed. I'm not sure what you are telling me to. Is there any way you can show me a before and after example on the code you included? Thanks again.
golfsferr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 04:21 AM   #9
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,203
Default

no prob, im not suggesting this is the problem but its an easy fix
where you have (use code view) at the top of the page
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"><br />
<head>
just change to

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 12:31 PM   #10
golfsferr
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Thumbs up Thank you

That seemed to fix it. I put that line below <head> FTP'd it and tried to reload the page numerous times and no mis-loads at all so far.


<html xmlns="
golfsferr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com