logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Community Talk > Dreamweaver Club Cafe
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2009, 05:36 PM   #1
walkamongus
walkamongus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 145
Default Client wont give me FTP info

I've been asked to redesign a header for a company's site. Im planning on using some css or jquery for revolving images. The thing is, my client doesnt want to give me the FTP info. Is this common? Seems like if they want me to work on the site, they should allow me to access it

walkamongus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 05:46 PM   #2
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

How the hell do they expect you to work on something you don't have access to? That sounds very strange dude.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 07:55 PM   #3
walkamongus
walkamongus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 145
Default

Tell me about it! I thought maybe I could ninja my way around it, but it seems like a pain. I just gave them my best explanation for needing it, hopefully theyll see the light.
walkamongus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 12:30 AM   #4
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

they want a site working locally so they vcan upload it themselves?
did you ask if they would create a temporary ftp account for you?
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:45 AM   #5
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Can't you just build it on a local site and give them instructions for inserting the header and uploading the CSS and JS.

It's not how I like to work but I've don't it before.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:53 PM   #6
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

We do all out websites without access to clients web server.
Development is to be done locally anyways, so you (or client) don't really need to do anything with the web server until it's ready to go live.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 03:14 PM   #7
walkamongus
walkamongus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 145
Default

"did you ask if they would create a temporary ftp account for you?"
Didnt think to ask this.

"Can't you just build it on a local site and give them instructions for inserting the header and uploading the CSS and JS.

It's not how I like to work but I've don't it before."
Yeah, this is my plan if they dont give me access. I feel the same way about it, but I told them I would do it that way if they want.

"We do all out websites without access to clients web server.
Development is to be done locally anyways, so you (or client) don't really need to do anything with the web server until it's ready to go live."
Thats interesting. What Im wondering about is how do you go about getting a clients site? I mean, if youre asked to alter something, not create an entire site, do you view page source, ask them to send you the files, or something else?
walkamongus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 04:17 PM   #8
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by walkamongus View Post
[I]Thats interesting. What Im wondering about is how do you go about getting a clients site? I mean, if youre asked to alter something, not create an entire site, do you view page source, ask them to send you the files, or something else?
Eiher we already host them, or they give us all the files if we don't already host them.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 07:31 PM   #9
walkamongus
walkamongus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 145
Default

Thanks domedia. I'll have to reconsider how I go about it.
walkamongus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com