logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Web Design
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2009, 05:35 PM   #1
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default Change page extensions and Google

If I wanted to update my site and use some PHP stuff I would change my file extensions to .php

If I name the pages exactly the same as I had my .html pages will it kill my Google ranking? Will they rank as new pages?
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 06:00 PM   #2
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

OK, read a bit more and remembered something Domedia said to me. Do I need a 301 re-direct for this? I have read that you need a file named .htaccess and I have done this and added this content...

Code:
redirect 301 /index.htm http://www.yotocreative.co.uk/index.php
redirect 301 /contact.htm http://www.yotocreative.co.uk/contact.php
redirect 301 /graphic_design.htm http://www.yotocreative.co.uk/graphic_design.php
redirect 301 /website_design.htm http://www.yotocreative.co.uk/website_design.php
redirect 301 /website_development.htm http://www.yotocreative.co.uk/website_development.php
redirect 301 /portfolio.htm http://www.yotocreative.co.uk/portfolio.php
Does that look right?
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 06:27 PM   #3
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Yes, you got it. Then in no time the old pages will be replaced in the search index and old link juice going to the old pages will be transferred to the new ones.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 06:31 PM   #4
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
Yes, you got it. Then in no time the old pages will be replaced in the search index and old link juice going to the old pages will be transferred to the new ones.
Cool, just tested it and it all works OK. can I delete the old pages now?
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 06:50 PM   #5
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
Cool, just tested it and it all works OK. can I delete the old pages now?
Yeah you can do that now.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 06:52 PM   #6
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
Yeah you can do that now.
Cheers mate. You see, what you say to me does sink in...eventually
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 06:01 AM   #7
coloeagle
coloeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 596
Default

You could add this to your htaccess.
Code:
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html .htm
This will treat htm and html pages as if they were php
__________________
The Beauty of CSS (One of my hobbies)
Home Security (My real Job)
Multiple Link Styles with CSS
coloeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com