logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2009, 03:03 PM   #1
peterkim
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default getting rid of frontpage??!!

Hello there,
I have little experience in web designing and need some help. my current company website is ancient made with fron page, but i just created a completely new (not upgraded) html pages and images, which i want to publish. i know nothing about frontpage and the publishing methods, so i want to know the quickiest way to get rid of the old html files on my remote ftp server (btwebworld if it helps). i know how to upload and publish with dreamweaver (unbeliveably easy) but i can't get rid of the old files. i know dreamweaver will try to replace the files but these are new files with new names, so i don't know what is going to happen.
many thanks
peterkim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterkim View Post
Hello there,
I have little experience in web designing and need some help. my current company website is ancient made with fron page, but i just created a completely new (not upgraded) html pages and images, which i want to publish. i know nothing about frontpage and the publishing methods, so i want to know the quickiest way to get rid of the old html files on my remote ftp server (btwebworld if it helps). i know how to upload and publish with dreamweaver (unbeliveably easy) but i can't get rid of the old files. i know dreamweaver will try to replace the files but these are new files with new names, so i don't know what is going to happen.
many thanks
If you are wiping the slate totally clean then connect to your current site with DW. It should show you all the files you have if you use 'remote view'. Delete all the files and then upload/synchronize your new website.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 04:10 PM   #3
peterkim
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default

ah, that easy!
Thank you for your advice, will go and try that out.
peterkim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 04:11 PM   #4
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterkim View Post
ah, that easy!
Thank you for your advice, will go and try that out.
Make sure you keep a back up of everything just in case! <<< from bitter experience
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 11:05 AM   #5
peterkim
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Oh yes i am keeping one copy on my computer, one on the laptop, external hd and a hard copy printed, you never know...
Thanks again for your help.
peterkim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 12:31 PM   #6
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
Make sure you keep a back up of everything just in case! <<< from bitter experience
I think that could have been a dig Mr Che!
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com