logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2009, 01:30 PM   #1
Mary Ann
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thumbs down Cannot connect to the server

I have two Web Sites. One has decided that it will not connect to the server. I have restructured the Remote form in Site Management a dozen times. I have contacted the remote people and there isn't a problem there.
What do I do next?
Mary Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 02:08 PM   #2
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

we need to see some code to allow us to check for errors
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk

Last edited by davidj; 05-25-2009 at 03:08 PM..
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 02:23 PM   #3
Mary Ann
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Default

What code do I send?
Mary Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 02:27 PM   #4
Mary Ann
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Default

I am going to have to leave my computer for the day, but if you can tell me what to send, I will reply this evening. I did get the simple change by going in live and editing it with Front Page.
I will be anxious to check my mail when I get home
Thanks in advance.
Mary Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2009, 08:40 PM   #5
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Do you mean that Dreamweaver won't connect to your server? If you can connect with FrontPage, then it must be a problem with your Remote site info.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 11:23 PM   #6
TracyKong
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 16
Default

on the ftp host field, try leave out "ftp://www", just put only sitename.com
that how I fix mine.
I ran to the same problem so I use Filezilla software, notice filezilla only use sitename.com not ftp://www.sitename.com, so I try that on DW and it work for me.
TracyKong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com