logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Photoshop
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2009, 10:15 AM   #1
silverglade
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Default is there a way to color an object black without selecting it?

hi i have a gradient object copy that i want to color black, is there a way of doing it without selecting it? any help greatly appreciated. thanks. derek
im having trouble coloring my gradient object solid black. even when i use bucket or brush it doesnt work.it wont let me rasterize the layer its set to all layers.

i also have a gradient shape on top of a black shape and im supposed to press delete to get a kind of line shape underneath but i cant do it.

one last thing. is there a way to select the shape without using the selection tools like wand etc?

Last edited by silverglade; 04-30-2009 at 10:44 AM..
silverglade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 11:23 AM   #2
silverglade
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Default

i managed to make the underlying shape black. the problem was i had the eye icon on the upper gradient shape.
silverglade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 03:39 PM   #3
silverglade
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Default

also,

CTRL+CLICK the layer's thumbnail to load it as a selection.


the gradient copy is on it's own layer, use a layer style and put a black color overlay on it.


those are the solutions i have so far.

also i have a new problem, im adding a drop shadow to a circle above another layer, and the drop shadow is effecting BOTH layers! i dont know what to do.

Last edited by silverglade; 04-30-2009 at 04:07 PM..
silverglade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 05:01 PM   #4
silverglade
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Default

but only when i move the drop shadow to a different angle than the underlayer, they both change.
silverglade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 05:59 PM   #5
silverglade
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Default

nevermind i found the problem . i was using GLOBAL LIGHT!!!!!!! that made both layers change for one light source. anyway, if anyone could help me with this please. i cant cut the black shape underlayer with the gradient shape top layer over it. any help greatly appreciated. derek
silverglade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 01:30 PM   #6
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

I'm a little lost here... Have you tried:
Image > Adjustments > Hue/saturation?
(have your foreground color set to the color you want it to be and click colorise in the hue/sat pop up.
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 02:01 PM   #7
silverglade
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 306
Default

thanks thats another great option. that worked too. also, does anyone know how i can cut a bottom shape with a gradient shape above? both shapes were made with the marquee tool. thanks. derek
silverglade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com