logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Web Design
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2009, 10:37 PM   #1
bmaniara92
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default Screen Resolution

I'm using Dreamweaver CS3. I just recently created a website but it is incomplete. The problem is, I created the website in Dreamweaver according to my computer monitor's 1440x900 screen resolution standard. I know that many computers don't use that yet. Is there any code or something like that, which I can use in Dreamweaver so that my web page will automatically adjust to anyone's screen resolution?

Here is my website if you want to see what I am talking about:

http://www.nhpbvtennis.oxyhost.com

I would greatly appreciate some help
bmaniara92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 10:55 PM   #2
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

you need to optimise your design for all monitors using a fluid design using CSS

Your using a table for layout which is the wrong route. Also you have no text in your pages so the search engines wont be able to index your site. You need to rethink the design and start again. Follow some basic CSS tutorials and take it from there
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:03 PM   #3
bmaniara92
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I'm sorry. I don't really know much about CSS. I am only fluent in HTML. Also, I do have text in my pages, just not in the homepage. I don't mind if search engines can't find my site. This site is only for use for a certain group of friends of mine. Is there anyway at all that I can make my site auto-adjust to everyone's screen resolution?
bmaniara92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:23 PM   #4
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

you have to use CSS

put the coffee on, switch the desk light on and start sucking up that information

http://www.csszengarden.com/
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:33 PM   #5
bmaniara92
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Darn. I don't have the time to do that. I have too much school work and SAT's and other things coming up. I won't have time to learn that until summer, which is like 2 1/2 months from now.
bmaniara92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:39 PM   #6
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

you dont need to understand it all

Just learn what you need to acheive what your after. It wont take that long. Small steps
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:41 PM   #7
bmaniara92
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default

The problem is, it took me about 9 hours to create that website. I don't want to start all over again. I barely have enough time to finish the rest of that site.
bmaniara92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:55 PM   #8
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

ok

thats the nature of web development. It all takes time

I have advised what you have to do.

I dont know what else i can do for you
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 12:32 AM   #9
bmaniara92
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Well, thanks for your time. Sorry for disturbing you. I probably won't be able to fix this site any time soon.
bmaniara92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 12:35 AM   #10
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

no problem

you didnt disturb me

get some time together and get that learning muscle into gear
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com