logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2009, 03:33 PM   #1
hotfuss
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Default Making a dreamweaver built site run on a CD

Hi, Hope someone can help me. I have built a basic site on dreamweaver ( first one I have made). How do I put it on a CD to view it on another PC? At the moment when I burn the remote file to a CD it is still looking for all the images on my laptop, how do I make it run from the remote folder on the CD?
hotfuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 04:19 PM   #2
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotfuss View Post
Hi, Hope someone can help me. I have built a basic site on dreamweaver ( first one I have made). How do I put it on a CD to view it on another PC? At the moment when I burn the remote file to a CD it is still looking for all the images on my laptop, how do I make it run from the remote folder on the CD?
You need to define your website correctly in DW > Manage Sites. Make sure all your paths are root specific. I.e. it will start with the root folder and then take the image paths from there >> images/yourimage.jpg

Define your site and you should be OK. You may need to re-do your links though as setting up/defining a site is the first thing you should do!
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 05:35 PM   #3
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotfuss View Post
How do I put it on a CD to view it on another PC?
Copy all the files onto the CD.. (I must be missing something)
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 05:42 PM   #4
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
Copy all the files onto the CD.. (I must be missing something)
I guess it's not live yet??
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 09:28 PM   #5
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
I guess it's not live yet??
Is the poster just wanting to show the site to someone before it's live?

If the paths are local (ie /images/image.jpg and not C:/ etc ) then it should be a doddle-ee-doo-da.
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 05:36 AM   #6
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

Quote:
then it should be a doddle-ee-doo-da.
err thats '3 year old' for poo
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 11:34 AM   #7
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

sorry - I should have written ...
Quote:
it will be a piece of doddle-ee-doo-da
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com