logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Community Talk > Introductions
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-07-2009, 04:45 AM   #1
dwaddict321

Default Hi

Hi, all.

Though my handle states "addict" I am completely new to Dreamweaver and using the latest free trial demo from Adobe for now.

Trying to create a dynamic web site. I know everything that I want to do and how it's going to look, but I have to say finding how to do even the simplest things is taking me hours and hours.

I looked through a whole bunch of tutorials here and on Adobe site and elsewhere, but they are so specific and do not seem to cover what I need.

Since I'm going to be doing a dynamic web site with vBulletin forums, I assume I have to start with a PHP document in Dreamweaver.

1) First, trying to set the overall size of my welcome page. I want the absolute size to be 1000 x 1700 pixels for the content at least. The background picture I want to use is way larger. I need the main page to display correctly at different resolutions (full pic say at 1600 x 1200) and a very specific position for the content on say 1024 x 768 resolution (about 7% in for the right margin). Haven't worked out the left yet, but I can do it quickly.

From reading the "centering tutorial" I tried some of the code, but it says /div tag at the end of the wrapper is undefined code. Stumbling block 1.

2) Basically, I want to define the overall size for all the content first. I need a header, footer and 3 columns, but each column will be divided into many little blocks.

3) Also need some accent images overlaid over the main background image for accents.

4) I will get to the PHP/forums setup later and I have the tutorias for that. It's the actual design I'm having a problem with.