logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 01:56 PM   #1
ilene
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default How do I do an http to https redirect?

Hi all,
First time I'm doing a "secure" site for a client. I have the cert and all is ok, but the domain comes up "http" unless you hand-type in "https". Hosting company says I have to do this within Dreamweaver CS3 but I haven't a clue how and can't find anything about it.

Anyone have any idea?

Much appreciated,
Ilene
ilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 08:28 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

http://cooletips.de/htaccess/
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 10:12 AM   #3
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

err

just clicked that link ed and the proxy just flagged it as adult content?
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 10:40 AM   #4
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

its a htaccess generator, unless im missing the good stuff
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 11:46 AM   #5
ilene
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

That would be easy if the site were on Linux servers. Unfortunately, it's on a windows server and they don't recognize htacess files.
ilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:11 PM   #6
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

http://sniptools.com/vault/windows-a...authentication
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:56 PM   #7
ilene
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the post, but they are not my servers...they are on GoDaddy and I can't tell you the run around I got from them. NO help at all. The page my client wanted secure is working fine. (The link within the site links to the https file and shows secure)

Now I have another site that we don't use anymore, but would like to retain the rankings for the keywords (similar on the new site)

Again, I can't figure out how to do a 301 redirect. Yes, I could put some java within the head tag, but I hear that the SE's frown on that and it's really not the correct way.

Any suggestions? I can't deal with customer support at Godaddy.

Much appreciated,
Ilene

P.S. I asked if they use Isapi rewrite (found how to do it through some research) and you'd have thought I had 3 heads!
ilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 12:51 AM   #8
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

how about this i found ?
Quote:
If you are not using a Unix or Apache server, you can still do a 301 redirect, if you are using .asp pages. Here's what you do:
Place the following code above your <html> tag or <!DOCTYPE>, if you have one:
<%@ Language=VBScript %>
<%
response.status="301 moved permanently"
Response.AddHeader "Location", "http://www.domain.com/file-location.html"
%>
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 11:20 AM   #9
ilene
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Dang...found that solution also, but my files are all HTML (you'd think it was a BAD thing at this point).
I read that I can ask GoDaddy to "run them through" asp, but like I said, they are not too willing to help here.
I have no clue how to convert my pages to asp either. Is this something I can possibly do? At this point it's JUST an index page.
OR, is there a way to do create a default.asp page? Is special programming needed for it? Like I said, I know nothing of asp.

I know I'm quickly heading to the end of the tunnel here, but I do appreciate your time and help.

Here's a question... (shot in the dark here) If I cancel the hosting on the account and just forward the domain with a 301 'forward', do I still retain my SE rankings for keywords? That is something I can do within my control panel.

Thanks,
Ilene
ilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 12:08 PM   #10
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilene View Post

Here's a question... (shot in the dark here) If I cancel the hosting on the account and just forward the domain with a 301 'forward', do I still retain my SE rankings for keywords? That is something I can do within my control panel.
Why not just get a new host and then move the domain registration to them? You shouldn't lose any rankings you have.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com