logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 09:41 AM   #1
zdvdla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Default pages showing skinparts but no flv

Hi,

I have encountered a very strange thing. I have built many pages that contain .flv files with no problems. Tonight however, all of a sudden, any page containing a .flv merely shows up in browsers as the chosen skin graphics broken up into many parts within the div, including the barber pole.
But no video at all
When I look at the source in FF, it appears exactly as the code does in DW.
I have been trying everything for hours and can't find the problem.

any ideas other than RI??

osx 10.5 quad core cs4 4G ram
zdvdla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:18 AM   #2
zdvdla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Default only local apparently

I just uploaded a page and it displayed perfectly from my site...when I test from DW FF, Safari both display the skin all broken apart...
see attachment...
Attached Images
File Type: png Picture 1.png (11.8 KB, 2 views)
zdvdla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 02:17 PM   #3
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

I think there might be swf file for the skin that you have to upload as well.

Just double check.

Nice system btw.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 06:59 PM   #4
zdvdla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Default swf contains skin too

Thanks Rick,

The odd thing is, it only does this locally..DW shoulff be able to find its own skin in its own folder right?
Man. I hate these kinds of issues..Its not critical, but its bugging me so much that I'm wasting hours trying to solve the puzzle..

Hopefully I'm not the only one with this disability...

This is what I get when I "preview in browser" from DW...
I made the second one really huge to make sure the skin had enough room to display...but....







zdvdla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:02 PM   #5
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

Could you just walk me through what you are doing?

You have your FLV, are you using Flash to embed that into a UI and then bringing that swf into Dreamweaver?
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 08:39 PM   #6
zdvdla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Default really simple

I create a new page in DW.

I create a div

Click inside div then go to Insert Media>flv

at the prompt I browse for the .flv (which I have checked with a player to make sure it was not corrupt) choose the .flv

choose a skin for the controls

click the Detect Size button

click ok

save

go to pulldown Preview in browser

and I get those weird pictures and no video - no audio

However --

when I PUT those on my remote sever for my website, it includes those 2 .js files


and when I type in the url of the page, it displays perfectly...

I tried starting a new site, using old html pages that worked before, but nothing is helping....
any ideas???
zdvdla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:55 PM   #7
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

I've never used FLV's like this I have always done this through Flash.

I have just tested this and it previews fine for me.

Those two files that you mention, the swfobject_modifed.js must be part of your local file / site structure or the flash content won't play.

Just make sure you have a folder called scripts and that this file is present. Once you've tried to view in a browser they should be there as Dreamweaver copies them there. The swfobect file is used to embed the flash content and the express install is used to allow a quick install of the flash player for users with older players.

If you ensure that the file is there it should be fine.

If its previewing OK on the server it should locally.

Let me know how you get on.

Ps your site structure should look like mine in the attachment. Two swfs one for the player and one for the skin the flv and the scripts.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Grab 3.jpg (34.4 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 10:57 PM   #8
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

Also if you are viewing in Safari just empty the cache.

Safari Pull Down Menu > Empty Cache
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 12:39 AM   #9
zdvdla
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Default mine looks the same

My structure is the same as yours, and I just went to my hosting server (where everything is working fine) and it is the exact same there as well.

However, I noticed that those 2 files were updated today. I then went to my Site folder locally and found that those 2 files are NOT updating.
Hmm.
I copied the ones from the sever via FTP and think for fun - I need some at this point-I will replace the ones locally with those downloaded and see what smokes.

I have already re-installed DW and that didn't change a thing...
zdvdla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 01:24 AM   #10
Ricky55
Ricky55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,855
Default

A reinstall of DW won't affect anything, its not that kind of issue.

If its working online just select the files from the server and do a GET on them to copy over the local files.

I can't see this having any effect though really as they should be the same.
__________________
Qwerty Design

Check out my blog for web design insights.
http://www.qwerty-design.co.uk/
Follow me on Twitter: @QwertyDesignUK
Ricky55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com