logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2009, 07:04 PM   #1
urbanrays
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 212
Default SEO Question

Hi

I have a SEO question that someone may be able to help with.

I put the search terms tanning in derby into goolge on ie7, it comes up on page 4, I do the same search on FF it appears on page 8, if I do this in chrome it does not appear tll I think page 12.

And this morning when I tried the site was at no1 in google "ie7" but it has dropped back down three hours later.

Thanks for any help
urbanrays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 07:12 PM   #2
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by urbanrays View Post
Hi

I have a SEO question that someone may be able to help with.

I put the search terms tanning in derby into goolge on ie7, it comes up on page 4, I do the same search on FF it appears on page 8, if I do this in chrome it does not appear tll I think page 12.

And this morning when I tried the site was at no1 in google "ie7" but it has dropped back down three hours later.

Thanks for any help
You'll go mental even trying to think about it. Trust me, Google watching is the path to insanity. Do everything you can to maximise your SEO potential and then forget about it.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 07:21 PM   #3
urbanrays
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 212
Default

Cheers toby, just 1 more thing mate, I have sitemaop xml in place I did put robot.txt up to index and follow all links the trouble is when I verified the site google couldnt read the pages I told it to index and links i told to follow,it said I had 15 404's
urbanrays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 07:45 PM   #4
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by urbanrays View Post
Cheers toby, just 1 more thing mate, I have sitemaop xml in place I did put robot.txt up to index and follow all links the trouble is when I verified the site google couldnt read the pages I told it to index and links i told to follow,it said I had 15 404's
Have you got all your links pointing to pages now?
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 08:05 PM   #5
urbanrays
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 212
Default

yes mate all links are pointing to pages no dead links either. while I am on the subject, going back to the first fault I have adwords running and again it shows up on ie7 but no adwords on ff or chrome, this is pants. especially when I am paying to be there.

Oh one final thought, do you think eskimos crap a brick and the country shuts down when its sunny...
urbanrays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 08:09 PM   #6
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by urbanrays View Post
I did put robot.txt up to index and follow all links
This is default. This is the same as having no robot.txt at all. Only include it if you need to constraint access to some files.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 09:19 PM   #7
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by urbanrays View Post
yes mate all links are pointing to pages no dead links either. while I am on the subject, going back to the first fault I have adwords running and again it shows up on ie7 but no adwords on ff or chrome, this is pants. especially when I am paying to be there.
As far as I understand adwords you only pay if you get click-through. If it's not showing, you're not paying. You might want to up your bids of you want to appear more.

Quote:
Oh one final thought, do you think eskimos crap a brick and the country shuts down when its sunny...
I wouldn't have thought so
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 11:00 PM   #8
urbanrays
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
As far as I understand adwords you only pay if you get click-through. If it's not showing, you're not paying. You might want to up your bids of you want to appear more.
I fully understand this but it seems strange my adds appear in ie7 but not in ff or chrome.

I always thought google was google no matter what browser you are using.
urbanrays is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com