logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > Javascript and JS frameworks
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2008, 03:48 PM   #1
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default Display customer reviews in Thickbox

Hi all

Can't figure out if this can even be done but a local directory allows for customer reviews and provides a 'widget' to display them in your site.

The code is...

Code:
<script src="http://www.freeindex.co.uk/widgets/reviews.asp?BID%3D124688%26Num%3D3%26width%3D400%26snip%3D100%26BWidth%3D1%26BColor%3D000000%26tcolor%3D666633%26title%3DOur+Latest+Customer+Reviews%26mcolor%3DFFFFFF%26acolor%3D000000" type="text/javascript"></script><div class="FI_reviews" style="width:400px;padding-top:4px;text-align:right;font-size:11px;">View our <a style="font-size:11px;color:#000000;font-weight:normal;" href="http://www.freeindex.co.uk/profile(yoto-creative)_124688.htm">full profile</a> in the FreeIndex <a style="font-size:11px;color:#000000;font-weight:normal;" href="http://www.freeindex.co.uk/categories/computers_and_internet/web_design_resources/web_designers/">Web Designers Directory</a> directory.</div>
I would like to be able to display this using Thickbox.

Any ideas???
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 04:12 PM   #2
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
Hi all

Can't figure out if this can even be done but a local directory allows for customer reviews and provides a 'widget' to display them in your site.

The code is...

Code:
<script src="http://www.freeindex.co.uk/widgets/reviews.asp?BID%3D124688%26Num%3D3%26width%3D400%26snip%3D100%26BWidth%3D1%26BColor%3D000000%26tcolor%3D666633%26title%3DOur+Latest+Customer+Reviews%26mcolor%3DFFFFFF%26acolor%3D000000" type="text/javascript"></script><div class="FI_reviews" style="width:400px;padding-top:4px;text-align:right;font-size:11px;">View our <a style="font-size:11px;color:#000000;font-weight:normal;" href="http://www.freeindex.co.uk/profile(yoto-creative)_124688.htm">full profile</a> in the FreeIndex <a style="font-size:11px;color:#000000;font-weight:normal;" href="http://www.freeindex.co.uk/categories/computers_and_internet/web_design_resources/web_designers/">Web Designers Directory</a> directory.</div>
I would like to be able to display this using Thickbox.

Any ideas???
Sorry guys, it's cool, I've managed to do it
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 05:43 PM   #3
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
Sorry guys, it's cool, I've managed to do it
Actually (as is always the way with these things) I have it working in one browser but not another.

Please would someone check my 'logic'? Link

http://yotocreative.co.uk/contact.htm

In the left column click on the 'Customer Reviews' link. It works really well in IE7 but Chrome isn't handling it.

Could someone also check in Firefox as well for me please?

Thanks for any help you can give.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 11:35 PM   #4
ranjan
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 405
Default

not working as intended in firefox 3

It begins to open thickbox and then jumps to the link as a newpage (follows the link)

return false missing?
ranjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 12:22 AM   #5
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjan View Post
not working as intended in firefox 3

It begins to open thickbox and then jumps to the link as a newpage (follows the link)

return false missing?
Thanks Ranjan

Thought it would be broken in FF as well

I take it you mean putting return false; in the thickbox.js somewhere? I don't really want to go round messing 'under the hood' of something I don't understand. My logic was that the '#' at the start of the href would null the link...Might be way off though.

Any more ideas?
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 01:22 AM   #6
ranjan
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 405
Default add it to onclick

Code:
onclick="return false;"
if that doesnot help you would have to go under the hood i think. never used thickbox cuz its so heavy, prefer to write my own
ranjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 02:08 AM   #7
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrosive View Post
My logic was that the '#' at the start of the href would null the link...Might be way off though.
Yes, '#' is used after a file name to link to a certain place in the document

Follow ranjans advice and you should be good.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 09:37 AM   #8
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
Yes, '#' is used after a file name to link to a certain place in the document

Follow ranjans advice and you should be good.
Hmmm.

The most luck I have had with this is to place the onclick command before the link to the inline Div and then it opens the thickbox without the reviews in both Chrome and IE. Otherwise, it's still doing it....really close to giving up now.

Any other thoughts before the towel gets thrown in?

Last edited by Corrosive; 12-07-2008 at 09:41 AM.. Reason: added stuff
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:32 AM   #9
ranjan
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 405
Default Use Thickbox iframedContent instead

See the example for iframed content instead of inline content

1. create a new file called reviews.html
2. put the reviews script tag in reviews.html
3. use iframed content to invoke the iframe


that should work
ranjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:47 AM   #10
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjan View Post
See the example for iframed content instead of inline content

1. create a new file called reviews.html
2. put the reviews script tag in reviews.html
3. use iframed content to invoke the iframe


that should work
Ranjan...I could kiss you (but I won't). Check it out....

http://yotocreative.co.uk/contact.htm

(please tell me this works in FF )
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com