logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2008, 10:56 AM   #1
willowtree
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default Testing a website in IIS

I am a novice to Dreamweaver CS3 and am creating a test website on my XP Pro system. I like to tinker around with things so have installed IIS including the FTP options. Instead of simply copying my site files into the IIS default web folder I wondered if it is possible to FTP my test site to localhost or to my ip address for test purposes. Can anyone advise how to configure IIS/Dreamweaver etc to enable me to do this? Simple instructions much appreciated!!

I have Googled for answers on this but cannot find an FTP/IIS combination. I am using thesitewizard.com's Dreamweaver tutorial to try to learn site building but it only tells the reader how to put the site onto a remote domain.

Look forward to any help available.
willowtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 12:10 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

think about using an apache server instead
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 10:19 AM   #3
willowtree
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default Even more confused!

I have no objection in trying any application but if I am struggling with iis/ftp in a localhost I am not sure how installing Apache on my system will help to answer my original enquiry. If you can explain the benefits of Apache over iis then I might give it a go. Let's face it, if I own a Ford Focus and cannot understand how to get the aircon to work, I would get advice on that vehicle's system until I could benefit from cool, fresh air. I wouldn't change the car for a Vauxhall.
willowtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 11:31 PM   #4
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

fair comment. i just think your ford iis is not good not its airconditioning.
if you want to use apache then look for program like apache2triad, xxamp, wamp, ect which will install apache php mysql, all that you are more likely to encounter when you publish on the web .
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 03:36 PM   #5
willowtree
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default So far so good.

Hi Major

Many thanks for your patience. I have dumped iis and installed Apache. "It Works".

Now what I need your help with is ftp. Perhaps I have got the wrong idea here but I assumed that it would be possible to use ftp to put my website files onto my localhost webserver (Apache) rather than having to manually place them into the htdocs folder. As I mentioned earlier, the tutorial that I am using to learn Dreamweaver CS3 tells me to use ftp to upload my website. The tutorial actually assumes that the learner will be putting the site onto a commercial webhost but I want to run any tests on my recently installed Apache server. Am I talking rubbish here or can I use ftp to upload my files to my Apache server and if so HOW do I configure whatever I need to configure? I believe CS3 does have its own ftp capability.
willowtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 12:21 AM   #6
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

yes it does. use the 'put ' function in dw to update/add ypur files to your local server. As for ftp with dreamweaver to live site even if you are not at that stage yet i always advise using an independant ftp program. i find it clearer to manipulate files .
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 12:54 PM   #7
willowtree
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default Many Thanks

Many thanks for advice, it worked!
willowtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com