logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Photoshop
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-09-2008, 08:05 AM   #1
Interstellar Icon

Question How to edit color/lightness of leaves in Photoshop

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Photoshop, and I'm having a problem with a website template that I'm working on. Here's the unedited image:

My client asked if I could make the leaves at the top of the design greener and lighter. After playing around with the image filters, I came up with this:

We both agree that the leaves toward the right side (over 'brothwell phd') look good, but the leaves on the left (over 'lisa m') look "fake". Any suggestions on what I can do to make these look better?

Here's what I've done to create the existing changes:

Image -> Adjustments -> Levels
-Channel: Green
-Output Levels (low value): +50

Image -> Adjustments -> Hue/Saturation
-Lightness: +5

Any input or suggestions welcomed.

Thanks,
Sam
Interstellar Icon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:35 PM   #2
Rob_Che

Doesn't sound like you're far off. The 'fake' appearence may be due to the cropping/masking style you're using rather than the color selection... but anyway...

OK... Try;
Masking the area you want to edit (even making a new layer from it)
Select the color you want the leaves to be with the eyedropper.
Go to Hue/Saturation: Colorize.
Lighten the areas you want, this will pull through the foreground color too...

I'm not at my PC at the mo... I might have a play later...
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 01:35 PM   #3
d a v e

have you got a link to a better quality version or even the psd??
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 03:09 AM   #4
Interstellar Icon

Hey Guys,

Thanks very much for your input.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob_Che View Post