logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Web Design
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2008, 07:20 PM   #1
africano
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 257
Default Navigation - Panowebsite-

Ok, well Ive recently been asked my a small(5 month old) architecture studio to help them redesign their website. I know one of the guys that works there and hes seen a couple of my panoramas....they approached me and asked if it was possible to make a panoramic website, of their office with different elements which would be clickable hotspots.

I know something like this can be done and showed them a site I saw a while back:
http://www.peggy-huyn-kinh.fr/site/PHK1.htm

They liked it but wanted to be able to manage the sites content, add update etc. They wanted the info windows(links or hotspots call them what you want) to open a windo over the panorama with html content.

Ive had a look arround and the only thing I can find is the solution I have implemented on a test basis(just to see if it can be done).

Currently inde.html loads a page with the pano, theres a link Portfolio which when linked opens the same page but with PictureFlow menu under the pano, these are links to the companies current page+sections.

I guess Im just asking if you think this sort of navigation is efficient, is it going to kill loading times...? Im just thinking other content they dont need to update can be opened in windows like in the french shop example...and things the need to update they can use the pictureflow method,

**(The pano is not of their office, just using a random one)
Any comments?
Heres the link to TEST setup:
http://www.elchevirtual.com/A12/index.html
africano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 10:06 AM   #2
africano
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 257
Default

No comments, I know its a rather long and vague post..just wondered if this could work....?
africano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 12:32 PM   #3
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by africano View Post
Heres the link to TEST setup:
http://www.elchevirtual.com/A12/index.html
I'm not sure i understand your question ?

Is this YOUR test setup ?
If so it appears that it would work.

You can fire the "open new browser window" from flash which could contain the HTML if formatted correctly. Is this what you're thinking ?
You could have a pop window within the flash file if the content was being pulled from somewhere else (iFrame ?)

RC
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 02:59 PM   #4
africano
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 257
Default

Thats what Im thinking over and not very sure about...How the naviagation is going to work. For example when you click on the portfolio link it opens a new page with Pictureflow and those links open a Box which links to the content......Should I try implement something in flash? The thing is the client whats something like the test setup Ive got but Im not sure about usability issues, Loading times....
africano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 06:23 PM   #5
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

For future reference, don't show a client an idea you can't pull off !
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 06:25 PM   #6
africano
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 257
Default

They havent seen it!

This is just what theyt want but Im not sure its going to work or if its efficient!
africano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com