logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Web Design
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-05-2008, 11:15 PM   #1
Interstellar Icon

Question Launching website redesign

Hi All,

I'm doing a website redesign for a client, and since I'm pretty new to web design, it's probably going to take me awhile to complete all the pages. The current site has 15-20 pages, and many of them have embedded flash files, embedded audio/video files, .pdf files, etc. I quoted a timeframe of 30 days to complete the redesign, and my client asked if we could do the redesign as a work-in-progress, i.e. publish new pages as they are completed. This would mean that both new and old pages would be live on the site until the redesign is completed.

I'm just wondering if any of you have encountered this type of request before, and what you think the best course of action would be. The new design is starkly different than the old (I can provide samples if desired), so there wouldn't be much continuity - but I also want to honor my clients request, and do what I can to accommodate it.

Thanks in advance, and any input will be appreciated.

Sam
Interstellar Icon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 11:57 PM   #2
davidj

I would try and talk them out of this but at the end of the day your getting paid so you have to do as requested. The best one i heard was a mate had designed a site and it was bling, really nice. Upon completion and go live the client turned to my mate and asked him to include a rotating envelope he found and ripped from another site! Nightmare but what could he do.

you have agree'd a time scale so i would sugest you talk to your client and ask them if you can go live in one go at the end of the term. If you say something like.... "By going live in one go will keep the costs down" all the client sees at this point is extra $$$ and you might get away with it
Old 06-06-2008, 08:13 AM   #3
Corrosive

Sam