logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Video Tutorials
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2008, 11:05 PM   #1
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default Changing WWW Directory in WAMP

How can I change it ?
I'm following the tut and want to point it to where my internerd files are kept but I can't figure how to point it ?

Help please.
Enjoying the TUTs !
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 05:35 AM   #2
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

you can use an alias

click the wamp icon in the systems tray and select alias then follow the instructions
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 07:05 AM   #3
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

Cheers DavidJ - I'll take a look later.
My pop up menu is different (slightly) in the version I'm using so I hope it doesn't cause any problems...
I think my version of the MySQL software is a later version to. I'm sure i'll find everything tho...

I've been given special dispensation to disappear on the computer as I'm "doing my course"... Glass of wine... and we're ready !

Rob
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 06:51 PM   #4
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

hey David - I've done that but my www directory still defaults to the WAMP folder... will this cause me problems ?
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 10:32 PM   #5
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

nope not while your testing

your alias works yes?
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 10:42 PM   #6
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

Works how ? I'm not sure I know what it does...
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 10:53 PM   #7
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

an alias allows you to select any directory on your machine and the contents will be processed by PHP through Apache
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 11:20 PM   #8
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

Welll I set one up... still the same error...
I'll reconfigure WAMP and come back...
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:22 PM   #9
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

So... I went to reconfigure... tried using Neon's setup.

He goes to PHPmyadmin in the WAMP folder... I don't even have this folder & when I hit PHPmyadmin from the WAMP start menu I get error "403 Forbidden".

I really want to get this working but I'm getting so fecked off with it.

Rob
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 10:26 PM   #10
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

all i can sugest is to uninstall and follow the install from scratch

if you go to C:/wamp/www

that is your working directory
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com