logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2008, 04:58 PM   #1
tsassen
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default Why is uploading so slow in MX2004?

I have loved virtually every aspect of Dreamweaver MX 2004. However, the uploading speeds are brutal. It regularly takes over a minute to upload files that are smaller than 75K. When I try uploading the same files using WS-FTP, the file transfer proceeds quite quickly. So I do not think my Internet connection is the issue here.

In the Remote Info settings, I have input the following:

Access: FTP
FTP host: IP address of our server
Host Directory: (blank)

Use passive FTP is unchecked
Use firewall is unchecked
Use Secure FTP is unchecked

In the Server Compatibility Dialog I have
CHECKED Use FTP performance optimization
UNCHECKED Use alternative DTP move method

Thanks for any suggestions.
tsassen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 01:14 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Hi tassen,
2 tips:
1. Contact your host and see if they have experienced something similar from other clients.
2. Check the help fies/manual for the different settings in DW's Remote Info box to see if changing the settings will change anything.

Anyone else using DW to transmit files?
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 02:43 PM   #3
tsassen
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
Anyone else using DW to transmit files?
Huh. Is it more common that people are using a separate FTP program? I'm happy to hear tips on doing that as well.

Thanks!
tsassen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 02:52 PM   #4
d a v e
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,684
Default

dw has always been a bit tardy in the ftp department - especially compared to dedicated programmes.

have you installed the latest update from the adobe site?

i use dw for small uploads (quite slow but i do something else while it's doing) or if it's just a site i'm working on and no-one else is synchronising with it then i use the latets filezilla beta which absolutely flies!!!
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 02:55 PM   #5
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

IMHO i would use DW to develop your site using a production/development environment. Keep it from the world until your ready to make it live.

When your ready to go live use a 3rd party FTP client to transfer your files. smart or coffee cup are good ones

this is how i develop and drop my files to the server.
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 03:02 PM   #6
tsassen
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d a v e View Post
have you installed the latest update from the adobe site?
I have installed CS3, but have chosen to work in MX2004 because I was experiencing sluggish performance with CS3. I was a long-time GoLive user and sensed some GoLive overhead to CS3. I've liked the stripped-down nature of MX. But I'm open to suggestions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidj View Post
IMHO i would use DW to develop your site using a production/development environment. Keep it from the world until your ready to make it live.

When your ready to go live use a 3rd party FTP client to transfer your files. smart or coffee cup are good ones

this is how i develop and drop my files to the server.
Our web site (www.goramblers.org) is updated every day with new modules and new information. I need to FTP files almost constantly. I've not heard of fileZilla, Smart, or Coffee Cup, but will investigate.

Thanks very much. These comments have been most helpful.
tsassen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 03:40 PM   #7
d a v e
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,684
Default

no, i mean the latest updater - i.e patch, not the next version of the programme
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2008, 04:18 PM   #8
tsassen
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d a v e View Post
no, i mean the latest updater - i.e patch, not the next version of the programme
Yes, I think so. I'm running DW 7.0.1, which is what the updater seems to want to update to.
tsassen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com