logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Web Design
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2007, 10:16 PM   #1
collins
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Default frames functionality

Hi there,

I am having an issue with frames. Is there any way of having essentilly two top static frames at the top?

I have created a page with top and side frames that do not change when I visit other pages in that appear in the main frame. So far so good. However I would like to create another fixed frame which stays as the 2nd top frame -but only on the certain/associated pages that appear in the main frame.

When I open a mainframe page in internet explorer (that has only two frames) the top frame does not move - which is exactly how I wanted it - but when start out from the home page in internet explorer (that also has the other two static frames) and then click on a button for a new page with two frames to come up in the main frrame - it does not tally!

Basically after I have clicked on one of it's hyperlinks in the 2nd top frame(that links to an anchor point in the third frame) - that 2nd top frame disappears and instead the 3rd frame takes over the whole main frame.

Is there any way of overcoming this so that there are essentially two top static frames at the top?

I hope you have mange dot understand what I am trying to say!

Some advice will be greatly appreciated - I have looked in books for this already - but no luck.

Hope to hear from you soon.
collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 12:03 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

not many deal with frames these days as there are disadvantages with them . so help might be scarce
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2007, 08:19 AM   #3
collins
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Default whats the alternative way?

O.k so what would be the alternative way of achieving the same result?
collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com