logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Web Design
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2007, 09:00 AM   #1
driftwood
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default First Steps Please Help

Ok folks, these are my very first steps into the scary world of web design...I am working using graphic design rather than code...but think already that I may not be able to get by without some code....gulp!! Anyway I am using dreamweaver 8 and of course photoshop. The problem I am having is in Firefox.......My banner graphic wraps to the next line in the browser and I don't know why...it does not seem to happen in IE ! Please can someone help......I have read and read loads of info on various sites and I just seem to be getting more confused.

Thanks in advance



HTML Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Virgin Land Home</title>
<style type="text/css">
<!--
body {
margin-left: 0px;
margin-top: 0px;
margin-right: 0px;
margin-bottom: 0px;
}
-->
</style></head>
 
<body>
<div align="center">
<table width="97%" height="100%" border="0">
<tr>
<td width="950"><div align="center">
<p align="center"><img src="Index Slices/images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="1" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_01.gif" width="143" height="111" align="top" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_02.gif" width="474" height="111" align="top" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_03.gif" width="308" height="111" align="top" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_04.gif" width="85" height="21" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_05.gif" width="80" height="21" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_06.gif" width="97" height="21" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_07.gif" width="113" height="21" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_08.gif" width="94" height="21" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_09.gif" width="464" height="21" /><br />
<img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_10.gif" width="211" height="330" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_11.gif" width="466" height="330" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_12.gif" width="248" height="330" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_13.gif" width="211" height="348" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_14.gif" width="466" height="348" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_15.gif" width="248" height="348" /><img src="Index Slices/images/Web-Sliced_16.gif" width="925" height="72" /></p>
</div></td>
</tr>
</table>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
</div>
</body>
</html>
I hope I have supplied the right info
driftwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 01:49 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

I'm going to go on a limb here.. but this is just a a bundle of images, personally I don't think it constitutes a webpage.

And since this is just an images, why even cut them up in separate images? Can the header graphic be one image instead?
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 07:11 PM   #3
driftwood
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default Non Webpage

thanks for the reply, appreciated!! As I intimated in initial post I am totally new to this and I am trying to understand how things work.........and yes I can make the banner image one piece. I was wanting to know , however WHY it was happening in order to get a grip of how things work.

Hope you can help
driftwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 08:54 PM   #4
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

I'm guessing because there is not enough horizontal space to display them all. The table cell has a width that is less than the top images combined
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 05:45 PM   #5
driftwood
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default Thanks for help

thanks for the pointers.....what I finally did was make a slice of the top of the banner to give me a fixed width although I did have the table set to 100% but it doesn't seem to do anything. Anyway I have the graphics...what would you recommend I play with next? tables?

driftwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 07:45 PM   #6
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Start doing some test sites with the CSS templates that comes with DW. Tables are not really meant for layout and will give you lots of headaches later. But if you play around with the CSS layouts that ships with DW, you'll get some good practice with HTML and CSS which should be a good foundation for expansion.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com